We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous views, lovely food and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

It is a pity that we had such a short stay at this hotel. The rooms on the ground floor overlooking the waterfront are just brilliant. The room décor is lovely. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. though we missed brekky as we went off to Ghansbaai for a shark cage activity the manager was absolutely wonderful as she provided us with a "cooked breakfast" even though we arrived in the afternoon to pick up our luggage. They have an awesome restaurant with breath taking views from the first floor. I wish we had stayed here longer!!!!! We were even provided ice buckets for our wines that we sipped on the veranda with the setting sun. Thanks for the lovely service.

Room Tip: choose the ground floor rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 770 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

It is really NOT good value for money. It is actually quite expensive for what is offered. For the price I would expect more personalized service, a bottle of water in the room every day (at least) and enough staff to help with luggage and cleaning. My room was not cleaned until 15h00 on one day due to staff shortages. In fact I came back from a morning outing to find my room in the state I left it (with the room service plates still sitting there from the previous night). The staff is not friendly (except for Ryan at the reception desk).
I had to carry down my own luggage.
The restaurant on site has mediocre food that doesn't fit the rest of the hotel's image and prices.
Except for flapjacks offered at breakfast there was really nothing at the hotel that was "different". And the flapjacks was the worst I've ever tasted.
Wi-fi was offered free of charge but didn't always connect.
The decor of the hotel is over the top and outdated.
2 single beds doesn't make a queen (or king).
Empty mini fridge - not even water.
Wine glasses but no wine opener.
I could hear the noise from the nearby jacuzzi as well as the air vents from neighbouring rooms' bathrooms in my room.

I will not stay there again at such a high rate. For rates like these, the service, decor and food will have to improve a lot and you have to add some special touches to make guests feel appreciated.

There are much better options available in Hermanus.

Room Tip: I would pick a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci_B_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We do clean our stay-over rooms at a time to suit our guests. This would usually be during the morning, but I understand from our housekeeper that you asked her to come back at 3pm, which is what she did, so we are a little confused now as to why you were upset that your room had not been cleaned?? (She is a very reliable employee and already 14 years with us) We do have enough staff for cleaning and to assist with luggage, and if you had called reception we would have sent a porter to you immediately to assist with your luggage as is the normal procedure in any hotel. I know that you spoke to the reception staff, and that you were also unhappy that you did not receive complimentary sweets and chocolates daily, we did provide you with biscuits, and marshmallows, and really did our best to try to make your stay enjoyable. I understand you are comparing us to a 5 star hotel in Europe where you had stayed, we are in fact a 4 star boutique hotel – a different category of accommodation establishment. I feel if you compare us to similar category properties then we would be one of the best!!
I was not aware that you were unhappy with the restaurant, and had you brought this to our attention during your stay, then I am sure we could have arrange with our chef to provide some other options for you. As regards to our breakfast, we have regular compliments on the variety we offer, and guests regularly say how amazing our flapjacks are – once again all I can do is apologize that these were not to your liking. Have a look at the pictures of our buffet on our hotel private site.
All our guests are welcome to contact reception should they require have any queries/problems (noise from other rooms??), or if they require additional items (bottle openers etc). We can then immediately attend to these things to ensure our guests have a pleasurable stay.
I am sorry that our hotel was not to your liking, I am sure if we had been aware of some of these points during your stay we could have made it more enjoyable.
As for value we can only offer the following: award received 2014 from TripAdvisor Feedback: Congratulations! Misty Waves Hotel belongs to a very Exclusive Group. This year (2014) LESS than 1% of all accommodations listed on TripAdvisor received Travellers` Choice Awards
Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, hotel was stunning. Room was massive and designed well, decor throughout the hotel was amazing. Only downfall was the evening menu for the restaurant , there isn't much choice, we also ran the bath however, the water was yellow. When we asked someone about it we were told that was normal, we decided not to use it given we couldn't see the bottom of the bath! Location was great, staff were friendly and helpful , breakfast was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Being referred to as a excellent and stunning hotel is fantastic news. Tthe personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My Husband and I stayed here at the beginning of March for one night whilst touring around SA/Garden Route.
We loved our stay here, the hotel is gorgeous.
Nice and easy making the booking by emailing the hotel. Seamless and helpful booking process from the team.
We were upgraded to A Honeymoon Suite which was lovely, this was on the ground floor just off reception.
The room itself was furnished in a beautiful way, loved the style in our room and the whole hotel.
Our room was very large with an extremely big and comfortable four poster bed, seating area in the room and outside on a lovely terrace which overlooked the lush gardens with many types of plants and colourful flowers and you could see the sea from the terrace.
The room itself had amazing air conditioning which we needed as was a very warm few days.
Plenty of facilities and excellent Wifi in the room and on the terrace.
Our bathroom was huge and had a nice big jacuzzi bath, separate large shower, double sinks etc.
Breakfast was upstairs in a lovely light and airy room with views of the sea and a little balcony you can step out onto to take in the views and get some nice morning fresh sea air.
Plenty of choice at breakfast and some foods cooked to order.
We were more than happy with the choice, lovely juices, coffee, tea, cereals, fruit, eggs, meat, breads etc and set us up for the day before we headed for Cape Town.
Just loved the art,design,antiques and the whole boutique style of this hotel. It really makes it special.
Excellently run - Wonderful, helpful and friendly staff.
The hotel is so clean and feels very warm and relaxed in all areas plenty of public seating areas to chill out in.
Great location and can easily walk around the nearby area.
We did not eat in the hotel the night we stayed as went into the centre of Hermanus for dinner, plenty of choice of restaurants all nearby.
The hotel has secure car parking at the back of the property which is nice, reception give you a code to use on the secure electronic panel so you can get in and out easily.
The price for the standard, luxury and what is included is great value for money and so peaceful we slept so well.
We would stay here again if in the area and can assure anyone they would not be disappointed if booked, definitely worth a visit and we would like to thank the hotel for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have been in january on our yearly south african holiday for the 3rd time by misty waves in Hermanus . Very nice romantic spacious rooms , perfect breakfast buffet , nice pool and only a few minutes walk from the Town center over the sea side boulevard . We already booked for next year again..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband, sons (12& 14) recently stayed at Misty Waves en route to Cape Town, it was perfect for us. Clean, comfortable and a beautiful view over Hermanus Bay, The gardens/courtyard/pool area were beautifully maintained and we wish our itinerary allowed us to stay longer!

The down side was the restaurant - Waves - although booked to eat here, we declined as it lacks atmosphere, is very dated in decor and the menu offered was uninviting.... very disappointing given the location and beautiful vista over looking the bay!

Room Tip: For our family we took 2 rooms on the annex - side by side with a shared balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyDubai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

usual wonderful welcome from the amazing Samantha. stayed in Annexe room with patio and super furnishings, scrumptious breakfast and the new restaurant is deservedly going to be a great addition. staff are kind, courteous and warm (Samantha sets the tone )
it just doesn`t get better than this but if you do go avoid the nearby restaurant `The Bistro` separate review
hope to see y`all again and soon !
Dr Mrs Brian Silverstone london

Room Tip: do not dismiss annexe rooms as possibly inferior they`re not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel." Never fails to be less than brilliant" Awarding us this and a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $115 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing