We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real romantic destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Slept in the honeymoon suite on the first floor which was a sea facing room. The ambience and views were unforgettable, tranquil, therapeutic and very romantic. The magnificient entrance hall equipped with welcoming, friendly and efficient staff to mention one lady in particular Sam exceeded our expectations.The breakfast was a buffet with tasty treats to tantalise the sleepy tastebuds also we had the option to order from the kitchen. To view the ocean while enjoying a wonderful breakfast or scrumptuous dinner this hotel is a must see!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Angelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as WELL as Samantha and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 770 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, great location on cliff top close to town. Restaurant perfect view for whales, just sat down for dinner and first whales appeared in the bay in front of the hotel, the same the following morning at breakfast. Secure parking for the car too. For us the inability to get onto the hotel wifi was our only problem and they did have a computer we could use albeit not secure to book our next hotel.

Room Tip: I would definitely request a sea view for the chance of seeing whales from my room and a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
We are terribly sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the WIFI as this is absolutely not the normal. Usually we are being complimented on FREE WIFI even strong enough to be used at the pool area. Perhaps this can be contributed to the bad weather we experienced. Appreciate you informing us.
Kind Regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The decor in the Misty Waves is enough to want you to never leave. It is a beautiful hotel and we had a sea view room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Its location is hermanus is wonderful and while we were just a week early for the whale watching season we did spot a few early arrivals.
The restaurant is what let the hotel down, front the guest information we expected to be having indian food, however, we were presented with a very limited menu and told that the hotel had just taken over the running of the hotel themselves and a more susbstantial menu would be available soon, but this was no good to us. The starter and mains were very nice, I had a beautiful line fish. I hope that the service and menu do improve because this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starinthesky1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Due to the demand of guests who stay for longer periods we changed ownership of the restaurant from Indian to an all inclusive menu. Which is actually already receiving various compliments as you will surely experience on a return visit.
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lovely African decor impressed me as soon as I walked in the door, but the spacious, luxurious room and bathroom took my breath away.
I was upgraded to a bedroom on the ground floor, which had sliding doors on to a verandah surrounded by lush plants.
The bed was supremely comfortable and the bedding was spotless.
The bathroom had a shower as well as a spa bath.
The dining room is a delight. With a varied, delicious plate of food in front of you, you have a magnificent view of the sea, and with any luck you will be able to spot whales from the comfort of your chair.
The hotel has a delightful little room equipped with a small library of books in various languages, and guests can use the computer or have a game of chess.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
If there is availability we love to treat our guests to an upgrade:)
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We too had an upgrade to a suite overlooking the sea...and whales. Breakfasts were great and, of course, the views again were amazing. The room was lovely and the staff very helpful. Car parking was secure and the closeness of restaurants was an added bonus. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location for whale watching. We were automatically upgraded which was a wonderful surprise. The views from the rooms were super as we woke up to see whales in the ocean. The views from the breakfasting room were even better as the whales had come in even closer. Helpful and friendly staff. within a couple of minutes walk into town. Could stay longer if we had the time. Only criticism would be that the rooms were quite cold on arrival. The hotel did provide us with heaters but due to the size of the rooms it took a while to warm up. Would definitely go back . Safe and secure location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
We love the fact that you could enjoy the whales at Misty Waves Hotel as our registered trademark and slogan is precisely that: Lie in bed and watch the whales!
Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Misty Waves in August during our holiday in Hermanus. Hermanus is amazing and the whales did not disappoint! Our stay at Misty Waves was the "icing on the cake". We were allocated a beautifully furnished room overlooking the sea and were greeted on a couple of mornings with whale and her calf swimming together in the bay. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and the lady on reception was particularly helpful in rearranging a boat trip for my husband which had been cancelled due to stormy weather. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Hermanus and will definitely be staying here again should we be fortunate to visit South Africa in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volkswagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, General Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
We are glad that the whales were around as the slogan: Lie in bed and watch the whales is our registered trademark:)
Hope to see you soon.
Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $115 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing