We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The television set was not working and we had a scrolling screen. The room wasn't serviced when we came back at 13h00 (after leaving at 09h30 the morning). The cushions on the balcony chairs got wet from rain and were removed but not replaced. After the room was serviced they did not replace the facecloth. Overpriced and not what we expected.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enigma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 743 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2008

We had booked into the Misty Waves for 8 days, we arrived the first night and my 11 year old son had a camp bed with no matress! We politely asked for one, but the staff were nothing but rude. The decor is very dated and fussy, the breakfast looked as if it had been sitting there for a week!! We checked out the next morning, and checked into the Harbour House Hotel around the corner which is fabulous, new and modern!!!!
Misty Waves is nothing but boutique!!!!! DONT GO!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tiff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Staying at Misty Waves was a big mistake. Although, Hermanus was beautiful our trip was ruined by this Boutique Hotel. The service was terrible and actually down right rude. The staff's unfriendliness and unhelpfulness became understandable once meeting the manager, Clinton Lerm. When you go to a place like Hermanus you hope for charm and hospitality...you will not receive this from Misty Waves.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank passtheburts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

I have mixed reviews about Misty Waves. The room and bathroom were very large and clean, although the decor was a little over the top. We didn't have a view of the water, but we booked a little late for high season.
The service at Misty Waves was very good. That is probably the best thng about the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not as good as many I have had. The only eggs were overly wet, pre-cooked scrambled eggs. Even hard-boiled would have been a nice alternative.
The use of the internet at Misty Waves was totally outrageous. We were charged 50 Rand for 30 minutes. My advise is to walk into town (1 block and use one of the many internet cafes that charge 10 Rand an hour).
The other thing that was a big disappointment was the rooftop restaurant. As nice as the staff people were there, the food was just not good. It was probably the worst meal we had in our 12 days in South Africa. Sorry!
However, if you are looking for great food, I highly recommend going to the Newton Johnson Winery and eating at their restaurant, Heaven. It was so good, we went there twice!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night in September during the whale festival. We had booked the honeymoon suite and were pleasantly surprised by the hotels great location and view from the bedroom. We could easily have stayed here for longer and would happily recommend this to anyone looking for accommodation in Hermanus.

On the downside, our room had dark furnishings which some people may like.

There is a great restaurant on the roof with splendid sea views.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newbury2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed one night at Misty Waves so we could see the Whales. Easy 2 block walk to the center of town. Nice views and the Whales performed as advertised. Our last night in SA sitting on the 2nd floor deck of a little pub viewing the Whales with binoculars, drinks and a long lens camera. Very Nice. Easy walk back along the shore. All appeared completly safe. Nice rooms although the tv could not be seen in it's cabinet unless you stood directly in front. We got caught up in the Rugby playoffs and wanted to watch the Springbok. Breakfast was very good. Staff was ready and willing to help. Also, a very easy drive to the Airport.
One note: The directions (map) printed from the hotel web-site were drawn up by a kindergartner. Impossible to follow. Had to ask help of a kindly "car guard" to set me straight.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank runner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Hotel is set back and is more squashed in that the photo suggests.. We had the Victorian Room which was in a building at the front of the hotel that you cant see on the photo.. Stunning room with a 4 poster bed, it was a bit chilly and needed the electric heater blowing all night to stay warm.. However lovely place for a stop over to see the whales!! You only need 1 day in Hermanus..

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugs1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
707 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $116 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing