We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“''Distant memories''” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“''Distant memories''”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We last visited Misty Waves in 2005 and had such a good time it was the first hotel booked on our latest trip.
We stayed in the Fishermans cottage in 2005, so decided to do the same again. This gives you the feeling of being independent from the main hotel but with all the facilities on hand if required.
As there were 6 of us we had all 3 cottages and soon discovered that all the rooms differed in style and quality. I am not sure if the rooms had not been used for a while but all 3 rooms felt damp and cold. Heaters were supplied in all the rooms and we left them on most of the time to try and take away the dampness.The rooms had a general feel of tiredness and neglect.These are historic rooms with the victorian bathroom and shower and this is part of the charm but looked a little rundown. The shower head falling off on the first night was not expected. A drink was spilt on one of the tiled floors and a hankerchief used to clean up, this had to be thrown away afterwards as it was filthy. I missed the viewing balcony on top of the hotel which has been enclosed to create another floor since our last visit. I do not want this review to seem all negative as the staff were wonderful, they worked hard to repair the shower and were always on hand to give advice for day trips or restaurants. The location is great, with the coastal path over the road. The walk into the town centre is easy and we made it a number of times a day. This is still one of the best hotels in the area but next time I will look for a room in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Higher with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trueguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Always good to welcome guests back and next time please be sure to pick your room already on the website as we would love for you to have the best experience ever at Misty. You have been the last guest in the heritage cottage before it was totally upgraded new floors etc! It was on the schedule! You were JUST a few days too early:) We really try to upgrade regularly as was just done with the total hotel. Next visit there will be an awesome lounge area on the top floor with amazing views on the whales. Would love to welcome you back. Just contact before time to arrange a special reception as returning guest.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    204
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
93
436
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a 2 week south african holiday. The position is on the coast, opposite the coastal path and perfect for whale watching. In fact you could see them from our room and the breakfast room.
Our room was spacious and had a partial sea view but no balcony. The decor was not to our taste - a little OTT, but that is just personal taste. I would opt for a balcony next time.
The breakfast was buffet style and had everything you would want really. The breakfast room was on the top floor with beatiful views, and you could see the whales.
The hotel was a little out of town and on the coastal path. This was fine for the day and not a very long walk to the shops and restaurants, however at night it seemed a little dark and more than just a short stroll.
Hermanus is not that big but has shops and quite a lot of restaurants and if its whale season is a great place for a couple of days. If we went again we may stay a little more central.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We really appreciate your comments. Love the fact that you enjoyed the whales as all our guests do.
On a next occasion please request a room with balcony. We love to upgrade our guests if there is any availability!
It must be mentioned that the town centre is very near and just 300 meters from the hotel there is already two restaurants. The centre could take a total walk of four minutes.
At night there is also "tuck tuck" transport for your convenience.

(Mostly guests complain about the late night and early morning music and clubbing in the centre of town and therefor prefer the tranquility just around the corner at Misty Waves. But as you mentioned it is a matter of taste.)
However would love to welcome you back into a room with a balcony and superb view:)
There is a huge variety of rooms to pick from on our website.

Regards

Manager / Waves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visit Misty Waves for the 4th year in a row this year. The view from the top floor restaurant is just amazing with . The staff and management are always so helpful, always go out of their way to assist us with any requests, and make us feel right at home. We look forward to see them all each year. The rooms are superb, spacious and beautifully decorated, from the reception all around the hotel. We recommend this hotel as the one place where you will switch off from the daily rush we all use to, and where you will be able to just relax, enjoy the whales, and excellent service.

Thank you everyone at Misty Waves for making our stay a memorable one every year!! This hotel deserves a 5 Star!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guests

Your fine comments are highly appreciated!
The personnel at Misty Waves Hotel and Spa thoroughly appreciate all acknowledgements such as these received.
It is the result of their very efforts to give outstanding service and to keep our guests returning back to Misty Waves.
It is a family owned hotel and each and every one of our staff feels like part of a huge family and love to
perform as such (owners in their own right) to keep our guests contented.

Would love to welcome you back.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great position, excellent breakfast, rooms large and comfortable. Had a room with a balcony that looked onto the sea. Could not get a better view than this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments. Comments such as this indicating that we are achieving our goals to be a favourite hotel in all we do and offer.
Once again thank you very much.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Wonderful stay in a real quality boutique hotel. Staff particularly friendly and helpful and rooms superbly appointed with sea views. Helpful local guidance as well. Excellent for whale watching. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the best rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Man0fKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments. Comments such as this indicating that we are achieving our goals to be a favourite hotel in all we do and offer.
Once again thank you very much.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in Hermanus in 2003. Oh how it is changed , but unusually for the better . The Hotel is on the sea front on the route to the new harbour . The welcome was real as we arrived at 11am after having flown into Capetown from the Uk . The staff got us sorted and into the annex room in minutes. The room we had number 404 was beautifully laid out . Everything you need and expect in a modern hotel.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and very well laid out . The restaurant / breakfast room is overlooking the beautiful Hermanus Bay .
Hermanus is worth visiting and we had an experience not to be missed. We watched at close range three whales in close encounter watching it from the professional Whale Watching Boat Misty Waves is a good value Hotel and I will visit this hotel some time again in the future.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are beautifully positioned but always ask for a sea view as some rooms do not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIreland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your precious comments. Comments such as this indicating that we are achieving our goals to be a favourite hotel in all we do and offer.
Once again thank you very much.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night and enjoyed stay. Had a room in the old renovated thatched building attached to hotel. Was beautiful and very spacious. Had four poster bed and a huge bathroom with shower and bath. A lot of choice for breakfast and the view of the bay out of the window made it magic. Seeing whales as we eat was brill. Plenty of parking at rear. Electric gates on the way in. There is also a Pc ith net access, came in handy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your precious comments. Comments such as this indicating that we are achieving our goals to be a favourite hotel in all we do and offer.
Once again thank you very much.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Property: Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The hotel outsourced their restaurant to two well known restauranteurs and it moved to the popular fisherman's heritage cottage "Mon Desir" next to the hotel pool. The buffet breakfast is still outstanding and hotel management on duty ensure that the restaurant provide the same high quality, presentation and service as in the past. Enjoy the sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. New additions such as addiditonal luxury suites and a lovely 16 seater cinema/theater are now available for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing