We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guesthouse with lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful guesthouse with lovely hosts”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I'd recommend this guesthouse to everyone who is visiting Hermanus. It's on the seafront approx 3km from the town centre. The rooms are very large with a bath and shower in bathroom. The owners treat you to a complimentary meal where you can also go into their personal wine cellar and pick your own wine for your meal. My wife was unwell with flu while we stayed here and the service we got was second to none. We tried to stay a further night to help her recovery but unfortunatly there were no rooms, but the owners organised another guesthouse of similar quality and it was this type of touch that makes this place very good. Would go back without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Small Guest House with a beutiful view on Walkers Bay. Very familiar, great food and great service.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgnc9472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed fot two nights 31 june-2 july in the seahorse suite.
Wery nice and comfy suite, one big and one small bedroom, a big bathroom ( jacuzzy bath, and nice shower).
The beds very comfortable and cozy.
The hoste Manne, friendly and helpfull and let us look in to the wine collection.
The guesthouse looked like it whas all new but the owner told us that they been there for 13 years. They look after it wery well i think.
The breakfast whas nice and plenty and the dinner good and tasty and served with a smile.

A wery nice stay, and i can truly recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Great view of the ocean, charming rooms, delicious and beautiful food and gracious hosts. Mannes is justifiably proud of his spectacular vegetable garden and impressive wine collection. The guesthouse itself was a very nice surprise after driving through a boring suburban neighborhood. Our room was very comfortable, pretty and spacious, with a large bathroom. Dining was family style but the food was great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schulphoek, Manager at Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Dear Carl

We thank you for taking the time to share your memories of your stay at Schulphoek.
We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and realise that it also is gracious guests like you who in turn leave indelible memories with us.

We hope to share the dinner table with you again in the future!

Thank you
Warm regards
Mannes & Petro
Chef Rebecca and all at Schulphoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the scollop room at the beginning of December. What a fantastic room. Views out to the sea, our own massage chair, fantastic bathroom and bedroom. Lying in bed listening to the sea was wonderful. We also ate one evening which was also a wonderful experience. The hosts are chatty and fun. Hanns, has an amazing wine cellar which just before dinner you can choose a bottle of wine. I would definately stay here again. Everything was impecably clean, the swimming pool massage room just every part of the guest house was well looked after. When we departed our car had even been washed for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This place is simply wonderful. Since getting back to England, I've been googling desperately to find the same combination somewhere here of incredible seafront location, extraordinary food, lovely communal areas, and comfy rooms, and I just can't!

The location of the sitting room is the real selling point. It has a wall of glass looking directly out onto the sea, just a few metres away (and they apparently see whales all the time, although it was too rough when we were there). There's a coastal walk you can do from just outside, which we loved - 20 minutes of windswept laughing and hunting about in rock pools made me feel like a happy little girl! And just sitting in that main room, with its banks of comfy sofas, looking out over the water, was amazing. They have a great capuccino machine, and you can ask for a coffee any time you want one, or help yourself to the extraordinary variety of drinks in their honesty bar, or to a slice of complimentary cake and just while away hours and hours. Can't recommend it enough!

The other big boon for us was dinner, which is complimentary on your first night (and only night for us, sadly). I've rarely had a better meal anywhere (including the odd Michelin-starred place when I'm feeling flush!). It's a four-course set meal with no choice, so you should let them know before you go if you have any special dietary requirements. The highlight was the venison pie, with the meat slow-braised so it was amazingly tender, and perfect pastry. My mouth's watering just thinking about it! I'd make the gentle warning that it's a very 'communal' experience, with everyone eating on one long table with the owners - most people seemed to love that, but we're quite private and asked for a separate table, which suited us better, so if you're the same way, you might want to do the same. I also have to say that I think there was a bit of the hard sell when it came to wine (and they have an extraordinary cellar), and I felt I was treated a little snappishly when I asked for a glass instead.

My only other little niggle would be our room itself (Perleimon, one of the standard ones). It was nicely decorated and had good facilities (including a comfy seating area and a great bathroom), but was fairly narrow and a little dark. Most of the rooms run down the side of the property, so they are at right-angles to the sea and don't have a view or much light coming in. However, the hotel's real wow factors are the meals, and the location and view of the living room, so any little disappointment with the room is really insignificant - we absolutely loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The room was nice and we got excellent tips for wine touring and whale sightings.
The dinner was amazing (and you get dinner for free on your arrival night!). We asked to be seated by ourselves which was very nice (I think we were the only English speaking guests at the time and a good bit younger than everyone else). If you are traveling as a couple, I would recommend this. This place is off the beaten path and we were advised not to walk around the nearby beach in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffaloali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Kennedys Beach Villa
#5 of 87 in Hermanus
353 reviews
3.2 mi away
Selkirk House
Selkirk House
#7 of 87 in Hermanus
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
3.8 mi away
Abalone Guest Lodge
Abalone Guest Lodge
#13 of 87 in Hermanus
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing