We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A paradise on earth!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed there for two nights last october. Execellent food, wines, service and hospitality! The Wine Cellar is remarkable! What a wonderful place to spend a weekend or holiday! We didn't miss a thing. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
128
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed the first night in the honeymoon suite which was very comfortable with a nice view, dinner was good but you are cajoled into buying a bottle of wine from their cellar which was overpriced. We shifted to the " Scallop" for the next two nights which whilst comfortable, the room opened out onto a patio which was shared by the other rooms and left little in terms of privacy as everyone else is sitting outside their rooms also. We booked on the basis that this was 5 star accommodation, however it was 4 at the very most. Way overpriced for what it was in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossco888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our 2nd stay in this great b&b. Our 1st visit was several years ago so we wondered whether it would would be as good 2nd time round. I shouldn't have worried, it was. Fabulous location right next to the sea. There's a lovely swimming beach 10 minutes walk away (the sea is very cold but wonderfully refreshing). Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Meals are usually around a communal table, which is a great opportunity to meet the hosts and guests over a glass (or more) of wine. The food was really good, home cooked and freshly prepared. And you get to choose your wine from the extensive cellar at the b&b. The hosts are perfect, nothing is too much trouble. I can't imagine not coming back again...

Room Tip: Eat in and you can drink as much as you want !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My son (20) and I stayed here in Sept 2013 and it was a highlight of our trip. Petro and Mannes are superb hosts, catering to all your needs. The twin room was spacious and double beds for both of us. Petro chose a bottle of shiraz for me which is the best I've ever had - now I'm in the UK I can't find it :-(. Mannes and my son got on famously, a late night of whisky drinking ensued..... The weather was terrible when we stayed and our planned cage shark diving and whale watching was cancelled. Petro arranged white water rafting and quad biking in a local wine estate. It was brilliant! I'm 48 & its the first time I've been white water rafting so I was terrified - it was adrenaline fuelled fun (apart from the last set of rapids called judgement day, I chickened out on that one). Thank you Petro and Mannes for such a wonderful stay. I intend to come back in 2015, got to do the cage shark diving!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcr1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was a part of a group vacation to South Africa recently. Three families traveled to Hermanus and had the privilege of staying at Schulphoek Seaside Lodge. There were 13 of us in total (6 adults and 7 children). Let me be clear, we took two flights for a total of 22 hours and then loaded into a bus for a 1 1/2 hour drive to the beautiful lodge. Unfortunately, our trip was somewhat delayed and then we happened upon poor weather for the drive. Our entire group arrived 1 hour beyond the start of dinner. We had weary hungry children, adults who just wanted to be pampered, and so much luggage we were unsure what was to go where.

Truthfully the moment of arrival was the last stressful minute of our 2 nights in Hermanus. We dropped off our luggage, smiled at the warm inviting rooms, and shuffled off to dinner. This was exactly what we needed and couldn't believe our good fortunes.

The poor weather continued throughout the weekend and our scheduled excursions were cancelled due to safety concerns in the ocean. Not to worry, Petra immediately scheduled us a private van and guide making several lovely suggestions for how to spend our day. Mannes welcomed us back to dinner that evening recommending a private hour for the children (and their own personal menu to boot) followed by a fantastic adult meal for ourselves. The children were happy and cuddled in the cottage with movies provided by Petra. We were picking our personal wines in the cellar to match the creations in Mannes' kitchen. Such style, grace, and hospitality.

We absolutely loved our time at Schulphoek. Petra and Mannes have a fabulous house and welcome the smallest of travelers with kindness and elegance. There aren't a lot of locations that happily host children in the environment that Schulphoek provides. Let me say, not only were our children welcomed, but the entire staff went out of their way to provide a luxury experience for each little person.

Hermanus and Schulphoek set the bar for the remaining vacation. Each meal was compared to the talents exhibited by Mannes. Many times when faced with a decision of where to go and what to do, we wished that we had Petra to give clear insight of what would be best for the large group.

We are a group that firmly believes you listen to the locals and take their recommendations. I'm glad we did and that Schulphoek Seaside Lodge was recommended to us. Our only regret, was that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SStrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This venue is a must for all visitors to Hermanus. The welcome from Petro and Mannes is sincere and the effort they and their staff put in to making your stay a success is remarkable. Don't book any outside restaurants during your stay and enjoy Mannes's food and the excellent wines they have on offer in their extensive cellar.

In the right season, I believe May to November, whale enthusiasts can watch from the lounge area and, if lucky, can have a close up view of one of nature's marvels

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but only one offers the opportunity to view whales
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipoo
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We did like everything in this guesthouse. The dinner at eavning in long table with other guests was unforgetable. Walking along the footpath on shore was cheery before magnificent breakfast. We did se whales also in whale safari.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.6 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
2.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
15.1 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#10 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
4.7 mi away
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
Hermanus Beach Front Lodge
#7 of 41 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: 181 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schulphoek guesthouse overlooks the bay from which it received its name - an idyllic expanse of ocean, where whales are frequent visitors. Beyond its quiet beaches, you will find nature paths and bird watching. Just 5km from Hermanus centre, Schulphoek offers an eco-conscious refuge, with seven sumptuously decorated suites that overlook either our garden or the sea. Food is our passion. You will find a three-course menu du jour, served at our social table (or separate) with organic produce from our potager garden and fresh-line fish. Our cellar is a haven for aficionados, featuring 12,000 bottles of local wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing