We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$221
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$122
$75
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$700
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
313
85
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
85
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrotto beachhonesty barattention to detailthe cliffmountain facingwhale watchingb bgarden routemain townhelpful ownersfour poster bedsmall balconyplunge poolmin drivelovely placecape towngreat guest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 406 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a beautiful guest lodge that we stayed at as part of our drive on the Garden Route. Our bedroom was gorgeous and had some really lovely finishing touches. The views were fantastic. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of tips for our onwards trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My initial feeling on arrival was one of disappointment as the hotel is so far from both central Hermanus and from the ocean.
However, I was glad we stayed here in the end without it we would never have discovered the fabulous cliff path which you can take into town. Walking that 4km route is my best memory of the town as it took us over dramatic little bays and beaches, almost constantly accompanied by pairs of whales (we were lucky enough to be there during peak whale watching season).
The sights were constantly fascinating and in the end the walk took us some six hours as we kept stopping to just look.
The hotel is very comfortable and serves a good breakfast. There is an honesty bar with a roof terrace with a nice, if slightly distant, view of the ocean. WiFi is available free there, although you couldn't get it in the rooms in the rear block where we stayed. That is a very minor grumble though.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms in the main house have WiFi access. The ones in the rear block do not.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lavender Manor for two nights on 14th and 15th January. The owners and staff gave a very warm welcome and made our stay of the highest quality. They were friendly and very helpful without being intrusive. Our rooms were spacious and well presented and the breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. Although it is a little further away from Hermanus than we had hoped there were panaoramic views of the bay from the roof terrace and from our communal lounge which made up for this.

Our room was very nice and there were champagne and strawbrries waiting for us on our arrival which was a lovely touch.

The honesty bar was a great place to relax after dinner and the food at breakfast was very nice. Although perhaps not very personal we enjoyed our stay and Lavender Manor proved the perfect spot for whale watching!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have really enjoyed our deeply relaxing stay at Lavendar Manor.
From the piano music filling the manor, to the little Lavendar sprigs dotted around our rooms, to the self-serve bar overlooking Grotto beach.
I love the country styled decor.
The service of management is impeccable and they can't do enough for you - very kind and helpful.
The only drawback was the lack of air conditioning, but apparently it's quite usual that the accommodation here is without it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews