We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lavender Manor for two nights on 14th and 15th January. The owners and staff gave a very warm welcome and made our stay of the highest quality. They were friendly and very helpful without being intrusive. Our rooms were spacious and well presented and the breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    71
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
224
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. Although it is a little further away from Hermanus than we had hoped there were panaoramic views of the bay from the roof terrace and from our communal lounge which made up for this.

Our room was very nice and there were champagne and strawbrries waiting for us on our arrival which was a lovely touch.

The honesty bar was a great place to relax after dinner and the food at breakfast was very nice. Although perhaps not very personal we enjoyed our stay and Lavender Manor proved the perfect spot for whale watching!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Hilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We have really enjoyed our deeply relaxing stay at Lavendar Manor.
From the piano music filling the manor, to the little Lavendar sprigs dotted around our rooms, to the self-serve bar overlooking Grotto beach.
I love the country styled decor.
The service of management is impeccable and they can't do enough for you - very kind and helpful.
The only drawback was the lack of air conditioning, but apparently it's quite usual that the accommodation here is without it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

As with some of the other reviews it really does seem to depend on what room you have - we had the family room which is situated at the back of the house at ground level and does not benefit at all from the stunning views of the main house - and also the family room is somewhat cramped and dark. The highlights for us were the balcony bar/lounge where we enjoyed a late evening drink from the superbly well stocked honesty bar, together with a 5 star breakfast - fabulous fruits together with cooked breakfast.
The location initially was a concern - being some 5km outside the town - but we were so pleased we were there it gave us the opportunity to walk the really stunning cliff path into town for dinner to work up an appetite - we then got the local taxi back.
Grotto beach is 2 mins walk away as is beautiful. We were there in January 2013 and the water was at an all time best of about 19C so beware that it is not for the faint hearted - very chilly even by UK summer standards.
The cliff path is genuinely stunning and starts 1 min walk from the Lavender Manor and is only spoiled slightly by a 100m section that comes off the cliffs to the road - but if you do stay here then don't miss the walk - we were out of Whale season so it must be even more fabulous in season.
All in all fully recommended if you check carefully which room(s) you are allocated.

Room Tip: Those at the back of the house and on ground floor are not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acs2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lavender Manor is a lovely guest house located close to Grotto beach.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped with good quality linen and towels. Breakfasts are excellent. I would recommend staying there and would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Seems from the other reviews that there is a huge discrepancy depending on the room you get. We were in room 4 which is downstairs, hot and poorly ventilated and looks onto the carpark. If you want some natural light and to open the blinds you have no privacy whatsoever. The decor in this room is also dated. Replacing the granny light with a ceiling fan would make an enormous difference! The bed was very comfortable though and the shower was good.

The guesthouse itself is charming with a lovely view of the water and gorgeous upstairs communal areas with an honesty bar. Breakfast was fantastic. The guesthouse is also situated about a 10 minute drive from town (so it's a little more peaceful in peak season) but directly across from Grotto beach which is beautiful. There is also a tiny child size pool.

Isabel was very sweet and gave us some fabulous food recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were at Harmanus Lavender Manor Guest Lodge in December 2012 for two nights. It is a beautiful lodge and the living and dinning rooms are picture perfect. However, the family room that we were in is situated at the carpark and poorly ventalited. The portable air-condition unit was almost useless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrchidSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Property: Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing