We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A glorious stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

From the arranging of our trip from Australia, assisting with organising for a very special birthday weekend away with family, the preparation of the perfect wine to be available to mark our arrival, the most spectacular roses for the occasion, coordinating a whale watching adventure, recommending restaurants which suited us perfectly through to excellent but discreet hospitality Kobus's well informed attention to detail for our stay was superb.
We can highly recommend Lavender Manor as the guest house of choice for a relaxed base to take in all that Hermanus has to offer.
Anton and Margaret.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    72
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
225
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Mountains on one side, the glorious sea teaming with whales, dolphins , islands with seals and penguins, pristine white sand, lagoons, rugged rocks
All of this in Hermanus with the treat of staying at Lavender Manor 5 minutes away from Grotto Beach! You sit on the veranda and can spot the whales.
The rooms arranged with care, love and very good taste.
The staff caring and lovely
The breakfast excellent!
The owners Kobus and Isabelle hovering , always interested, sharing information and advice
The manor is near the scenic spectacular cliff walks , the Milkwood woods and many more sights
Easy to drive to wineries nearby and to other enjoyable places; Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Cape Town
DO NOT miss the Eco Marine boat trip with Whale Watchers who are bent on the conservation of the sea inhabitants including White sharks
The BEST holiday we have ever had!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Lavender Manor, and I can honestly say that the website can not do it justice. What a truly charming lodge this is with such warm hospitality. The location whilst a little out of the main town (not a problem with the local tuk-tuk service though) has spectacular views over Grotto beach and the whales in the bay. Hermanus itself is a fantastic place buzzing with a great atmosphere, especially at this time of year when the whales are migrating and excellent restaurants . Lavender Manor itself i can not fault. We stayed in two immaculate rooms in the main house next to the lounge area. The rooms were spotless and enhanced by wonderful personal touches. The beds were fantastic and the breakfast buffet looked so beautiful I did not want to touch it!! (tasted great too!). All in all Lavender Manor was a truly wonderful place to stay, The Wills family UK

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here in the middle of Whale watching season and enjoyed the stay immensely. There is an almost military crispness in the cleanliness and service at this lodge. Stayed in room number 2 which has no sea view but was still very comfortable and well-appointed (and quiet). Good crisp linen and toiletries.
Breakfast was great with lovely fresh fruit and everything you would want for a morning feast. The parking is a little tight especially getting into the drive way but I was driving a larger minibus after all.
The lounge upstairs offers great views over the sea. Complimentary wireless connectivity is refreshing in these days of hotels charging for everything under the sun.
All in all, a lovely alternative in Hermanus with friendly owners and good service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Worthwhile paying a little extra for the upstairs sea-facing suite. The views are great (especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent a wonderful two nights at Lavender Manor Guest House this August, we stayed in a family room. The views from the bar and viewing decks are amazing!
The hosts are lovely, and very helpful, with their knowledge of the area. We used the tuk tuk service to and from the town which they helped us with. The breakfasts were lovely and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Owned by a welcoming and knowledgeable couple who have lots of advice on places to visit and things to do. Arrived at Cape Town on the over night flight from Heathrow, despite checking in time being after 2pm, we were allowed into our rooms by 11am and welcomed with coffee and freshly baked biscuits.

Comfortable property with well furnished rooms and only a two minute walk to the beach. Alternatively the Fernkoopf nature reserve is a ten minute walk to the north with a wide range of wild life.

Guest house located about two and a half miles from the centre of Hermanus, lovely coastal walk to get there with lots of wild life, including whales, on route.

Numerous other attractions within a days drive.

Nearby a good day time cafe called Daily Bread that sells excellent cakes

Room Tip: Very accommodating owners, ask In advance and they will help with any requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lavender Manor is a wonderful B&B, of an excellent standard and ideally situated for enjoying the Hermanus area, being just 5 minutes drive east of the town. We (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed for 2 nights in rooms 1 and 3, both on the 1st floor of the main building. Room 1 is a beautiful double room with a stunning view out to the ocean; a 4 poster bed; double patio doors leading on to a little balcony; two double wardrobes (one housing the mini-bar and hot drink-making equipment) and an amazing bathroom. Room 3 is on the side and back of the main building so has views of the ocean, just rather less spectacular than Room 1, but is also decorated to a very high standard throughout. There is a communal open deck and another roof-top area for relaxing and enjoying the view out to the ocean, plus a lovely cosy, comfy sitting room filled with books and magazines for everyone to enjoy – and an open bar! There is another building behind the main lodge that we cannot comment on.
Isabel, Kobus and their staff devote themselves to the comfort of their guests and we could not have felt more welcome or cared for. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh and very varied. I can’t eat gluten and Isabel went out on a special mission to buy a bread-mix which she made into a loaf especially for me – I really appreciated that. There were countless small touches to add to the general luxurious experience, not least the little sprigs of lavender in the rooms (I won’t elaborate on them all so as not to spoil the surprises!).
As it is winter, we didn’t make use of the plunge pool – but it looked lovely. The gorgeous beach is 5 minutes walk away (just one row of houses separates Lavender Manor from it) so we were able to pop down there whenever we liked. We made the walk to Hermanus along the coastal path and this was a lovely experience for whale-spotting: we took our time - several hours - to enjoy all the views and wildlife along the way but walked back in an hour and a half (although we could have caught the cute Tuk-tuk instead).
Truly a delightful place to stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.4 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
3.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Manor Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Manor Guest Lodge

Property: Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Address: 184 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Manor Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Manor offers spectacular sea and mountain views and warm, relaxed hospitality. Overlooking famous Blue Flag Grotto Beach and the whale sanctuary of Walker Bay, you are within two minutes walk of the magnificent beaches and the scenic cliff path. Relax next to the secluded pool and watch the incredible sunsets over the ocean from the upstairs patio. Ideally positioned for whale watching, walking trails, visiting the different wine routes, and near world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Lavender Manor Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing