We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at Pat's Place”
Review of Pat's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's Place B&B
Ranked #35 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Pat's Place is Perfection!

We stayed for 2 nights in November in the fantastic town of Hermanus.

Welcome
We were made very welcome to Pat's Place by a member of the owner's staff - Flora, who was welcoming and showed us to our room while the propretior arrived. Suzanne, the owner is delightful and made us so welcome into her home.

Facilties
Our room was 'the honeymoon suite' which comprised of a lovely sunny room, squishy sofa and lovely bathroom. We had an outdoor coutyard with a sunken bath, and also tables and chairs.

Breakfast
Was served in a lovely dining room. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to our taste.

Location
On arrival, Suzanne informed us that the whales. were 'performing' in the bay (which we weren't sure about but when we got to the sea- less than a ten minute walk - the whales really were performing!) Suzanne also gave us two excellent restaurant recommendations. The location is excellent and an easy walk to town. It is also next to an well stocked wine shop - say no more!

Suzanne was also really helpful in sorting out the last minute arrangements with our Shark Diving experience. Nothing was too much trouble!


I would highly recommend Pat's Place for your trip to Hermanus - enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stopped of in Hermanus for 2 nights and choose Pat's Place on the strength of tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed at all - we absolutely loved it and would recommend it.

Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and we loved our private patio area and outdoor bath. The bed was so comfortable. The rest of the house is very cosy - it was lovely to be able to use the large living room and kitchen as our own too, rather than being sonfined to our room (the house is only really used by guests).

The garden is lovely - we wished we had thought to use the BBQ one evening. We enjoyed lounging by the pool but didn't dip in.

As mentioned on many other reviews - yes Suzanne's breakfasts are fabulous - a huge variety of delicious tropical fruits and greek yogurt, a choice of cereals and bread and then delicious freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms etc.... Suzanne was also very helpful in advising us on things to do in Hermanus.

We didn't even really notice we were next to a petrol station - it honestly shouldn't deter anyone from staying here.

We thought Pat's Place was a great choice - and hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterMillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We first came to Pat´s Place in 2002, having taken a chance and booked randomly on the internet. Since then we´ve been coming back again and again, mainly because of the exceptional host Suzanne. She has a large house with four bedrooms in her B&B as well as a family self-catering unit where we stayed on our last visit. We have never been bothered by the petrol station next door but when you stay in the family unit under the thatched roof you do get some noise from the main road. The garden is lovely, the pool average but the breakfasts are to die for! She decorates the plates with fruits and flowers from her garden and you just don´t ever want to get up from the table. Suzanne will not stop at anything in order to make you feel welcome and we think Pat´s Place is simply one of the best places to stay in South Africa. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatharinaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Please don't be put off by Pat's Place location. I nearly was and it would have been such a shame. When we drove past you can see its next to a etrol station but the upside is that it is an oasis amongst all the madness. The added bonus is you have a great Spar and wine supplier next door. Suzanne the owner is wonderful and so welcoming. Bella (the Great Dane) is a joy and makes the start to your day a treat. We stayed in the self catering Yacht but didn't quite like it because of the mezzanine thatched bedroom. Some people would love it but not for us and we preferred the B&B side. First class breakfast and lovely lounge to chill and watch TV. A pleasant walk into town and great value for money. Give it a go you will love it we did!

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank Gibson1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Sorry to poor some cold water on the rave reviews here but its not that great!

We stayed here in December 2007 and the room we had (The front one) was large and clean, but - it was very noisy as the B&B is right next to a petrol station - which is clearly visible from the small garden (with outdoor bath). The light fitting fell off the wall when we touched it revealing bare wires. There is a swimming pool and the sheets are lovely and all that but it does lack the warmth and personality of other places we stayed along the garden route. We had to take breakfast at 0830 as Susan had to get to the school and the communal eating wasn't our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Career_Break_Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

It is a great place to stay. The host Susan is very friendly and helpful, the B&B itself is absolutely beautiful, every room is styled differently, some of them have direct access to a beautiful terrace with a little fountain, the lounge is really welcoming (with a tray of sherry for the guests) and the 2 years old dane Bella is soo sweet (and does not come into the house for those afraid of dogs). The place lies right at the main road but it is a really quiet place. It is a 3 minutes walk to the cliff path where the whales were already waiting for us. To the center of Hermanus it is a safe 10 minutes walk. Susan is very helpful with restaurant recomandations and bookings. The breakfast was great: fresh fruit every morning, cereals and cooked breakfast as well. We would come here again any time if possible

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aeindschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely Bed & Breakfast, having been sent to a couple of totally unsuitable places by the local Tourist Office.

The owner, Suzanne, was so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us - arranging horse riding for my husband and giving us loads of useful tips on the Hermanus area - nothing was too much trouble for her.

The house is old and loaded with character. The rooms were so comfortable, and her breakfasts could not be bettered. We'll definitely stay here again is we ever return to Hermanus.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.7 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
3.5 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
740 reviews
3 mi away
Schulphoek Seafront Guesthouse & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Place B&B

Address: 245 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $18 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing