We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP treatment”
Review of Pat's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's Place B&B
Ranked #35 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“VIP treatment”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at Pat's Place two years ago doing a story on Hermanus. Although I was hosted in the main guest house with it's stunning rooms and fab outside bath facilities, I fell in love with Suzanne's little self catering cottage. It is so pretty and perfect and looked like a wonderful option for an intimate family holiday (we are only 3). When we arrived Suzanne however told us that she would like to upgrade us to the large selfcatering house, which is equally stunning and with it's own unique character. We were in two minds - my son loved the bunk beds and I love the shell glass door of the bathroom in the small unit. Suzanne however insisted that we move into the large house at no extra cost and also because she wanted us to have some space! We felt so spoilt having this beautiful old home to ourselves. The main bedroom has the most romantic bathroom and I escaped to the dining room with it's own door walking out on the veranda to work on my upcoming book. Talking of veranda - the house has a large veranda that looks out into the garden. And on the other side there is a private barbeque area. We had the most amazing stay. Suzanne gave us tips on where to eat - from the cheap fish shop to the village market. We walked every morning to the huge tidal pool where we did laps (my son was about to swim a long distance race). We also ventured over to Standord where we took a boat trip down the river on the River Rat (recommended if you want to see some great birdlife). The next day we swam down the river and had a close encounter with a little snake, who also went for a morning swim! Back to Pat's Place - it is on a busy road, but it very central and once you are inside the gates, you will only hear birds in the many trees. There is a great little shopping centre close (with the upmarket Woolworths Store) and more importantly (if you have kids), Zero Gravity - a safe gaming shop. A highlight was visiting all the charity shops in the town - we found 3. We managed to pick up a book that I was about to order from overseas and a junior golf set for just about nothing. Still wanted to do the canoe adventure - perhaps next time. We are for sure coming back to stay in the little cottage this time! Thnx Suzanne for treating us like VIP's and for allowing us to have a great holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniquestrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our one night stay en route to Knysna so much, we booked again for the return trip to Cape Town.
Relaxed and friendly BandB. Stylish and comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast. Travelled with friends but suitable for families too. Will definitely return.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank janell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you need a well located B&B with clean rooms, reasonable price, excellent breakfast and lovely hosts. Is what you will find at Pat´s Place. Conveniently located a walking distance from the square and nearby an small shopping center is an excellent option for stopping in this lovely town.
Don´t hesitate to ask Susan (Pat´s owner) for advice for tours, restaurants or just a nice chat with a great person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mart1no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights, the host, a family mother (I forgot her name, Pat was her grandma), made a very nice breakfast, keopt everything very clean. we had a comfy room, a door to the garden where we could have our own barbeque/braai and have dinner at a nice wooden table.
it is only 5 minutes to very nice beaches in hermanus (we found them even better than some in cape town). all in all great value (we payed 600 rand for the room including breakfast).
we would love to come back some day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

December 2011 was the first December in 4 years that I have not spent some time at the delightful Pat's Place in Hermanus (due to personal commitments in Johannesburg.) I visited Hermanus during the Kalfie Fees in August, and was once again blown away by Suzanne's hospitality, the warm homely feel of the guesthouse and the variety of activities in the town. August being the first time I've visited in winter, I was pleased that the beds have electric blankets, the sherry decanter is always full, and one day, due to an oversight by the plumber, we had no hot water in the guesthouse! Suzanne apologised profusely and offered us the use of the shower in her home! Did I mention that her hospitality blows me away! This note is just to say that I missed Pat's Place this Christmas.

Room Tip: All rooms have an en-suite bathroom, but a special treat in summer may be one of the rooms with an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72aliciaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossmolina, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Pat's place is situated about a mile outside Hermanus town centre, just a stones throw from the cliff path.

The house is old and the rooms are large and spacious with lovely high ceilings. The down side of it being an old house is that certain things are needing renovation and the rooms have a slight "musty" feel to them. And I can also echo some other reviewers comments about the cleaning not being 100%. I wouldn't call it dirty, but you'll certainly find some small things that need dusting/cleaning without having to look too hard.

The swimming pool is a decent size and the host allows the guests free use of the fridge and the kitchen.

The owner is friendly, informative and very helpful.

All in all, Pat's place has some great points and some not so great points. It's a good enough place to stay, but with some extra work it could be a whole lot better.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a lovely outdoor bath with both hot and cold water, and jacuzzi jets. The ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Suzanne and her family really have taken a great deal of time and effort to make staying at Pat's Place an experience, rather than just an overnight stay. The rooms are individually thought out with little quirks making each unique from the next, and the service was exemplary. You were made to feel like a long term friend rather than a guest, very refreshing. You really don't want to leave!! I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsplacehermanus, Owner at Pat's Place B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write the review. I truly appreciate it, and would love to welcome you back very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#32 of 86 in Hermanus
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 42 in Hermanus
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Place B&B

Property: Pat's Place B&B
Address: 245 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing