We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore Hermanus”
Review of Pat's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pat's Place B&B
Ranked #35 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay en route to Knysna so much, we booked again for the return trip to Cape Town.
Relaxed and friendly BandB. Stylish and comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast. Travelled with friends but suitable for families too. Will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank janell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Pat's Place B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you need a well located B&B with clean rooms, reasonable price, excellent breakfast and lovely hosts. Is what you will find at Pat´s Place. Conveniently located a walking distance from the square and nearby an small shopping center is an excellent option for stopping in this lovely town.
Don´t hesitate to ask Susan (Pat´s owner) for advice for tours, restaurants or just a nice chat with a great person.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mart1no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights, the host, a family mother (I forgot her name, Pat was her grandma), made a very nice breakfast, keopt everything very clean. we had a comfy room, a door to the garden where we could have our own barbeque/braai and have dinner at a nice wooden table.
it is only 5 minutes to very nice beaches in hermanus (we found them even better than some in cape town). all in all great value (we payed 600 rand for the room including breakfast).
we would love to come back some day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

December 2011 was the first December in 4 years that I have not spent some time at the delightful Pat's Place in Hermanus (due to personal commitments in Johannesburg.) I visited Hermanus during the Kalfie Fees in August, and was once again blown away by Suzanne's hospitality, the warm homely feel of the guesthouse and the variety of activities in the town. August being the first time I've visited in winter, I was pleased that the beds have electric blankets, the sherry decanter is always full, and one day, due to an oversight by the plumber, we had no hot water in the guesthouse! Suzanne apologised profusely and offered us the use of the shower in her home! Did I mention that her hospitality blows me away! This note is just to say that I missed Pat's Place this Christmas.

Room Tip: All rooms have an en-suite bathroom, but a special treat in summer may be one of the rooms with an o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 72aliciaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Pat's place is situated about a mile outside Hermanus town centre, just a stones throw from the cliff path.

The house is old and the rooms are large and spacious with lovely high ceilings. The down side of it being an old house is that certain things are needing renovation and the rooms have a slight "musty" feel to them. And I can also echo some other reviewers comments about the cleaning not being 100%. I wouldn't call it dirty, but you'll certainly find some small things that need dusting/cleaning without having to look too hard.

The swimming pool is a decent size and the host allows the guests free use of the fridge and the kitchen.

The owner is friendly, informative and very helpful.

All in all, Pat's place has some great points and some not so great points. It's a good enough place to stay, but with some extra work it could be a whole lot better.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a lovely outdoor bath with both hot and cold water, and jacuzzi jets. The ja...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Suzanne and her family really have taken a great deal of time and effort to make staying at Pat's Place an experience, rather than just an overnight stay. The rooms are individually thought out with little quirks making each unique from the next, and the service was exemplary. You were made to feel like a long term friend rather than a guest, very refreshing. You really don't want to leave!! I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsplacehermanus, Owner at Pat's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write the review. I truly appreciate it, and would love to welcome you back very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Thank you so much! It was a Great pleasure for us! Your House Is warm and lovely! A Great Place to relax and get down After stressy work! The bathtube in your garden is magic! The beds were absolutly comfortable! The breakfast so delicious ! We'll come again, soon, promised! Best regards to the whales and the lovely Dogs! Have a nice Season!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blumelin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 85 in Hermanus
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hermanus Lodge on the Green
0.4 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#9 of 85 in Hermanus
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twentyfour17 Inn
Twentyfour17 Inn
#47 of 85 in Hermanus
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#23 of 85 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gregoire Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pat's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pat's Place B&B

Address: 245 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $18 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing