We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience, the worst place we stayed at in SA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“horrible experience, the worst place we stayed at in SA”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Having some fine tastes, we were definitely disappointed with the Windsor hotel. The hotel certainly didn’t come across to how we had imagined it – an impressive historic structure with unsurpassed views. Instead the hotel has a road in front of it between the building and sea, and is not the only structure along this road. At the hotel’s price we certainly felt like we were ripped off, deciding that even had we received a 50% discount we would have been disappointed. Arriving late in the evening to a stale, damp room, the bed was so uncomfortable that I seriously just wanted to leave again. The hotel and room interior, bedding and curtains is so old fashion with photographs of people in the 80’s watching Wales. No room service or friendly staff available. The only positive was that we had only booked one night at this place and didn’t have to stay longer than 24 hours!!

Do yourself a favour and book another one of the hotels in Hermanus that will give you plenty of views in a far nicer room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joefra129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    258
    176
    49
    31
See reviews for
172
320
36
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked one night through Flight Centre in UK about 6 weeks before trip. Voucher showed 'NS room' which we took to mean 'non-smoking' (preferred option) but it turned out to mean 'not sea view' to the hotel receptionist. We were allocated a rear facing room, overlooking a car park and the back of a church hall, which had been used by smokers. It was not air-conditioned and the windows opened, so we put up with it for the one night. Room had all usual amenities with plug in kettle and tea/coffee. Ample electrical sockets. Bedroom floor was a little sticky (shake'n'vac used on it?). Building gave the impression that it had been several separate sea-front properties, knocked through to make a hotel of about 80 rooms over three floors. Car parking at the rear: The entrance to which was a sharp left turn at the end of the building -temporarilly concealed by a parked van. Breakfast room was downstairs next to Reception. Varied selection from buffet and hot items cooked to order. Outside the 'whale-watching season' - hotel seemed very quiet. Extensive roadworks in the area (Late Jan 2010) needed an lengthy unsigned diversion to get from Main Street to Marine Drive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed 1 night at the Windsor Hotel and it was the worst hotel we stayed in during our three week trip through Namibia and South-Africa.

It looks like a place that might have been grand and luxurious 40 years ago, but seems to have made not a single effort to remain so since. Our room was very small without a terrace and the furnishing/decoration was in some sort of 1970’s floral polyester theme which wasn’t supposed to be retro chic and was screaming bad taste. To top it off the staff were unfriendly and breakfast basic.

Since there are so many amazing places to stay in South-Africa, there is really no need to stay at the Windsor and we would definitely advise you not to.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Babs1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

My family had a house in Hermanus when I was growing up, but now I live in the USA. Although it has changed a lot, Hermanus is still wonderful and the Windsor offers good quality at an affordable price (if you no longer have a house to stay in). I have eaten many meals there and the food has always been good.

Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GinaUys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

We had a two night stay at the Windsor Hotel as part of a trip around South Africa. We decided Hermanus was a must see because of the whales and following on from that the Windsor Hotel boasted sea view rooms, which sounded great.

On this item, the Windsor Hotel produced the goods and on waking up we had a group of whales just out the front of the hotel. To be honest though, the novelty of watching whales from your room passes quickly, and we much prefered to take walks along the amazing cliff walks to watch the whales and scenery generally, and enjoy the pleasant town of Hermanus.

The standard of the hotel was ok but not great. During our trip we stayed in some much cheaper places, which were better than the Windsor Hotel (about £90 per night for sea view). Overall, the place needs a bit of modernising though in some ways the 1970s look is kind of interesting! The hotel is clean and tidy. Breakfast was ok and the service from the staff was fine.

If I was to go back to Hemanus, I would not worry about staying in a sea view location and stay somewhere else, where you would likely get better quality and better value accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Windsor on our three week holiday in South Africa. We stayed in the sea view rooms and they didn't disappoint. Although we were on the top floor which was the best place to be for whale watching, there is no lift although the stairs are not steep and didn't cause us any problems. There were nice little touches of little chocolates with whales on them left in your room. We drove down from Knysna and the coastal route is stunning. Hermanus itself is a lovely quaint little town, old colonial style buildings. Breakfast in Hotel was lovely. No evening meals provided but you could order in if you wanted but there are lots of nice places to eat nearby. We tried the Cattle Baron very nice and the San Remo Spur again excellent and good value for money. We saw lots of whales on our first day there around seven of them very close to the shore. We saw them very early on a morning around 6.30am breeching just near our Hotel and got great views of them from our window. It is one of the nicest towns we've stayed in, there is nothing spolit about it. Although the Windsor is a little bit dated that actually adds to its charm. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borotraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel is ideally located for a visit to Hermanus overlooking Walkers Bay where the whales are and a short walk into town and to local restaurants. You can see the whales from the hotel lounges and dining rooms. If you can afford it go for a sea view and you can see from your own room too. Room was comfortable only downside not much choice of TV channels. Breakfast buffet was good. There is no restaurant for evening meals but plenty of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing