We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but pretty chilly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location but pretty chilly!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a school sports tour to South Africa. The accommodation in the main building seemed to be fine and nice and warm, but some of our party were allocated rooms out in an annexe at the back, which had no heating at all, so was extremely cold in the South African winter! These rooms were basic, with very small beds, so not to be recommended. The hotel is in a superb location though, and the breakfast was really very good indeed.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellygirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Ellygirl34,

Thank you for your straight forward comments. It is always good to get constructive criticism and we have immediatly rectified the situation as far as your comments are concerned.

We have placed heaters and extra blankets into all of those rooms.

Thank you for having a positive effect on our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    229
    161
    45
    29
See reviews for
146
291
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

excellent location right on the promenade BUT if you don't get a room on the sea side it is al lost... for why come to Hermanus if not for whale watching? We got there on a day when the staff said they couldn't upgrade our room for they were having a convention and were fully booked. So we stayed in the back... the bed was ... unconfortable, there was no Wi-FI available in the room, no safe and the room was small, probably the smallest hotel room I have ever been to. The staff at the front desk was ... condescendent and bored and I felt happy when we left after only one night

Room Tip: ask for a suite on the sea side like #36
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielAllonTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear GabrielAllon,

What a pity that you choose to use your first review in such a negative manner?

Hermanus is certainly not boring and is not an unhappy place. Yes, it is true that our sea rooms have an incredible view, but unfortunately I only have 32 sea facing rooms. Obviously, when they are sold out, there is not much that I can do.

I am sad at your comments about your feelings regarding the Hotel and its staff. I wonder if this was not just your perception at the time?

We are a happy hotel that tries to do everything to make our guests feel welcome and satisfied during their stay. Your comments would have been more effective at the time of your stay, as I would have been able to react to your situation.

I certainly hope that you come back to Hermanus one day and that I will be able to show you the meaning of my words.

Yours sincerely,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rather dated feel (no safe in room and bath only) but more than compensated for by the the sight of whales from our balcony overlooking the bay. Ideal for watching whales without even leaving your hotel room. Good buffet breakfast with egg chef. R806 for b&b. Tip – In winter they offer discounts if you show up on the day and are unlikely to be full. Eat at Lemon Butta if you like seafood.

Room Tip: For wifi in your room ask for a room above reception, for nicer room ask for one in the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear JenLUK,

Thank you so much for your fair comments, you have given us some good pointers that we are working on at present.

Please be aware that we now have safes in all the rooms and are also looking into getting free wi-fi in all the rooms.

Kind regards,
Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Windsor Hotel this weekend. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a stunning sea view. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and responded to requests promptly. Breakfast was good. One small complaint - after I had run my bath on Sunday morning (no shower in our room), there was no hot water left for my husband. He had to bath in my lukewarm water. It was quite a chilly morning so he didn't enjoy that too much. It was a pity because this was the only let down of our stay. However, something as basic as enough hot water should be seen as priority.

Room Tip: Always try to get a sea facing room. It's worth paying that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Yvonne 1506,

I am so, so, so sorry that this happened to you. Your comments are lovely and very welcome!
I am just so upset about your hot water!

We had a small problem with the boiler on that particular day (it is fixed now), which caused the hot water problem. You did stay in one of the original rooms (built in 1896), unfortunately I can not put a shower in these rooms as they have wooden floors and any access water on those floors would causes issues in these rooms. Please note that all the new rooms have showers.

Please contact me personally on blake@windsorhotel.co.za, so that I can arrange a proper apology for this inconvenience. We so look forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have returned several times to this Hotel and just love the setting. I do find that the mattresses may need to be replaced as ours was on the uncomfortable side and the linen needs to be upgraded. Our Towels were thin and washed through. What a pity about the bedrooms not having DSTV and WiFi - although it is available in certain areas in the Hotel. The carpets and upholstery also needs to be re-cleaned or re-placed. Not sure about the no-smokers policy as our rooms seemed to have had smokers in it before. The breakfast was good and the staff great ! All in all this Hotel has such great History and wish for a possible upgrade for them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SONJA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sonja D,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your comments. Constructive critisicm is always welcome and we value your comments.

For a returning guest I am sure that you would have noticed that we are in a process of refurbishment and although we would like this process to happen faster, we are bound by what is practical.

Exciting news is that we are continuelly buying new matrasses and bed linen and should not be long before all rooms have been upgraded. Also exciting is that we have just recently relaid new carpets in certain sections of the Hotel and our wi-fi coverage is about to be extended to all parts of the Hotel. DSTV is still an ongoing project and we hope to have a solution for this before the end of the year.

Our policy in regards to smoking is in keeping with the law of the country and all of our rooms are non smoking. If anybody is caught smoking in a room, it is regarded as an illegal act and the appropiate steps will be taken.

Once again thank you and we look so forward to welcoming you back to the Windsor Hotel.

PS: I would love to meet you on your next visit so that I may show the changes that we are busy making personally.

Yours sincerely,

Blake Albert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent a night in the windsor Hotel, Our room had the best view, were you could look out onto the sea, and that's amazing for whale watching in the day! The bed in our room were as soft as a feather had such a peaceful sleep and good's night rest, you could here the ocean and the waves breaking on the rocks. Service "excellent",five star staff, had a good breakfast with variety of good, yummy food. Had a very welcome experience. Enjoyed my stay at the Windsor Hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Lilly2673,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. As always, we welcome all comments. Your experience, from the moment of arrival, is important to us.

As for the whales, you are absolutely right. They are back in Walker Bay and with the current dreary weather, there is no better place for whale watching than your sea facing room at the Windsor. Glad that you had the opportunity to experience that!

Please do come and stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Blake Albert and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Three of my high school friends and I spent a night at the Windsor Hotel in Hermanus on a weekend road trip to celebrate our 50th birthdays. We had a lovely stay at the Windsor. It is well situated and our rooms were not only comfortable and nicely appointed, but also offered a lovely view of the ocean. It was just a short walk into town to enjoy the restaurants and craft market. I would definitely choose to stay at the Windsor if I visited Hermanus again.

Room Tip: If you like an ocean view, request a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor H, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Barbara,

Thank you so much for staying at the Windsor and celebrating your birthday with us. (We are still recovering).

Your comments are kind and we believe that you captured the essence of what we stand for.
"Stay at the Windsor, experience Hermanus".

We look forward to welcoming you ladies back next year for another "50th birthday".

Kind regards,
Blake and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
662 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing