We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a gorgeous view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Jaipur
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Hotel with a gorgeous view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We checked into the Windsor after a long drive and wonderful stopovers at Franschhoek and Stellenbosch. We checked-in on september 23rd evening and were allotted a room on 2nd floor.

The Hotel does not have any lifts but you can pay Rand 5 per bag and get the bags carried to your room. The room was small but charming and has a very European feel to it. It was equipped with basic amenities like a electric kettle, tea/coffee, cream, sugar. The room had a heater and that worked well. I did not see any aircon in our room, neither did we need it. Bathroom had toiletries like soap, shampoo and conditioner. There were clean towels and the beds were very small but comfortable.

We could see the amazing Atlantic ocean from our windows and hear the sea all night. The front office staff was pleasant and courteous. They could help you organise a whale watch tour / shark cage diving and even sky diving. Breakfast is served in the restaurant. Owing to the early morning activities i couldnt sample any so cannot describe the breakfast.

There is a computer near the front desk area and you can surf/ access e-mails free of cost on that Computer. All in all, I had a comfortable stay at The Windsor and think its a small and peaceful place to spend time in.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor are better and have these amazing balconies facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    218
    154
    45
    27
See reviews for
135
278
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nobleton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband & I stayed in your hotel on September 1, 2011. We were deeply disappointed with the room. The windows had an open 2 inch gap to allow cold air to rush in the room. The heater didn't work very well. And there was absolutely NO hot water - not in the evening or the morning. The only thing that held true in the hotel's online advertisement was the view of the ocean. Our over-priced room did not compensate for the rundown condition of the hotel. It was a miserable, old hotel with no lift to the uppers floors. This hotel was the one dark spot in our wonderful visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsormanagement_11, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Anna Liisa,
I was saddened to hear your above mentioned comments, and especially to the fact that at no time did you inform either myself or one of my staff members that you were unhappy with your stay. We are well known for our warm, friendly and efficient service and would have immediately dealt wit all your complaints.
It is unfortunate that on that morning between 7 and 9 there was no hot water - it was an unforeseen and unpreventable situation beyond our control, coupled with one of the coldest days of the year with 70km gusting winds - I think we can all understand that you were uncomfortable, for this we at the Windsor Hotel are truly apologetic.
The Windsor Hotel has been around for 116 years and we pride ourselves on our "old world charm" and wonderful service. We are a two-story building and therefore do not see the need for a lift, once again if this was not to your satisfaction we would have happily moved you to a downstairs room.
Once again I offer my sincere apologies and I would personally like to invite you (should you ever visit our beautiful country again) to come back to the Windsor Hotel so that you may experience our warm hospitality. Refurbishment started two months ago and I am sure you would be pleased with the results.
Yours Sincerely,
Blake Albert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had such a fantastic time, we saw whales and did lots of walking even in the rain! The hotel is really great we all had nice rooms with spectacular views and were all very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicciB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked into this Grand Old Lady
We found the Hotel a little tired,but clean and comfortable and staff very pleasant
More than enough full breakfast was a pleasant included surprise
Our room was clean with coffe/tea provided fresh every day
To be one step across from the beach and generally with in walking distance to everything in the town, we will definately be returning Thanking you Greg and Flora Bloom

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florabCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Windsor Hotel in Hermanus last week, and I had a "Whale" of a time! My comfortable, cosy sea facing room gave me a fantastic view of beautiful Walker Bay and the Whales for which Hermanus is world famous. If you want a great value stay in Hotel with friendly staff, excellent facilities and unrivaled natural beauty, the Windsor Hotel is the place to go. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1000CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Eventhough my colleagues and I only stayed at the Windsor Hotel for 1 night, we really had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great location, its a safe area and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We will definately go back there anytime!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristelleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

When visiting Hermanus the Windsor Hotel is the place to be! The location is absolutely perfect, the staff are friendly and the rooms spotless with the most amazing views over the bay. If my travels ever take me to Hermanus again I would choose the Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing