We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Reviewed July 11, 2011

When visiting Hermanus the Windsor Hotel is the place to be! The location is absolutely perfect, the staff are friendly and the rooms spotless with the most amazing views over the bay. If my travels ever take me to Hermanus again I would choose the Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Windsor Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 704 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

The Windsor Hotel is exactly what a holiday in Hermanus should be. You've traveled off the beaten path to find a quiet little fishing village with history, charm and natural beauty all around. After that effort do you really want to stay in something akin to a casino hotel? No you want the real thing. The Windsor, while antiquated, actually belongs in, and compliments, this setting. Staying there you will truly feel as though you have stepped back into a simpler time where things were built to last forever. If you're looking for the royal treatment and the latest modcons and silk sheets and silver spoon service, you're not looking for a quiet holiday in quaint Hermanus. Go stay in Camps Bay if that's what you want. The Windsor is about going back to basics and giving you what a traveler needs, and not charging you for frills and flippancy. Moderately priced for what you receive, there's nothing wrong with the simple English breakfasts and dinners served in the solarium. And for those of you who read the comment about it being "unsafe", well, if you're stupid enough not to lock your sliding doors and windows and put the deadbolts provided into their rails, you deserve it. This is South Africa not Saudi Arabia.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopywriterDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorManagement, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

To all contributors regarding the Windsor Hotel we would like to thank you for your constructive criticism and input. We at the Windsor Hotel have gone through major management changes and have read and are acting on your comments.
We are aggressively working to make the Windsor Hotel the ultimate, safe and value for money holiday destination in Hermanus.
We are actively encouraging our present and future guests to share their comments on Tripadvisor about the experience of the new Windsor dedication to customer service and experience.
We would like to invite all of our previous commentators to come back and witness the change at the Windsor Hotel. See you soon!
Blake Albert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I visited the Windsor Hotel on New Year's eve 2010/11. We woke up at 5.30am on New Years morning with two armed men in the hotel room. They tied us up at gun point, gagged us, abused us, and stole our property. The security at the hotel failed to prevent the incident. No alarms were tripped, and there was no one monitoring the cameras. The boom in the parking lot was even wide open all night. We only received an apology 3 weeks later from the hotel, after a member of my family asked for one. We subsequently inquired if the Hotel would offer any compensation for our stolen property. The owner didn't even bother to reply to our email. I am shocked at how a hotel could display such a lack of empathy for their guests. I would highly recommend not staying here.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Andrew_KirkbyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorManagement, General Manager at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

This incident, no matter how rare an occasion it is, is never acceptable. It goes without saying that a property tries to do everything it can to ensure its guests safety.
It is with absolute regret and shock that I first heard about this particular incident involving Andrew and Mari. This situation caught us completely by surprise. The hotel has had no history of this nature and we were completely lacking in our training for such an event.
However, since this particular incident we have introduced a range of safety training programs for our staff and upgraded our security systems in the hotel.
This program of safety and security is an on-going project and we endeavour to ensure the safety and security of all of our guests.
Having said all of the above, I do feel that a second posting of the same incident, three months after the occasion (Maria Thea 10th Jan 2011) is unfair. I have personally spoken to Mari and Andrew and invited them back to the Windsor to view our upgraded safety systems and witness the changes for themselves. Although they have not taken me up on this, as yet, the invitation remains permanently open.
Yours Sincerely,
Blake Albert
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Just on the waterfront. Large terraces, no air condition. Very basic breakfast. Very basic rooms. Problems with water supply when a large group arrives.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed in the Windsor Hotel in January 2011 and were very disappointed with all aspects of the place. It was clearly underused ...in fact it appeared to be empty. It looked old and tired. The staff were helpful. The room was drab and just like a cheap English chain. Adequate but dull...and expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I recently stayed over in the Windsor Hotel with my boyfriend and was awakened by two men who tied us up, gagged us and threatened us at gun point. We're lucky to be alive and unharmed. Although there are cameras and security, this hotel IS NOT SAFE and I would strongly advise people to not stay there. This incident took place 9 days ago and I still haven't heard a word from management or been offered any form of comfort from the hotel staff at the time.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
14  Thank MariThea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed three nights in the Windsor Hotel. At first I thought it was really antiquated and then after a while as I like antique furniture etc anyway it sort of grew on us !!! Its like its set back in the 50s or 60s and as long as you can live with that its fine as everything else is ok. The breakfast is good. Cleanliness is good which is the most important to us and the location is perfect. All that is against it is that its old fashioned. It definitely grew on us after a couple of days and we got quite fond of it. We were fortunate though in having a sea view. I think that people who have rated this hotel as very poor shouldnt be so fussy ! The staff are also very helpful if you ask them for anything. We were also lucky to see lots of whales close to the hotel. Bring binocculars.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WokingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $66 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing