We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #19 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Right near the cliffs, what a lovely place! We unfortunately only stayed one night during our Garden Route trip but would have liked longer. Very well located - near restaurants, town centre and the all important whale watching. Very helpful staff, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. No resatuarant but Burgundy opposite is very good - lovely breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    288
    63
    26
    6
See reviews for
111
419
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our second visit and it was just as good as the first one. Where else can you sit up in bed and watch the whales in the bay while drinking fresh coffee from the cafetiere they have so thoughtfully provided? Great location on the cliff top and a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. Comfortable bed, pleasant friendly service, wifi and a complimentary glass or port or sherry whenever the mood takes you. Breakfast at the the restaurant across the street (included in the price) is all you could wish for. The best room is definitely the Right Suite because it has the best views, but several other rooms have sea views.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, Staffs, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our second visit to the Auberge Burgundy - as we really liked the location.
This time we had the apartment above the jewellers, so we had a large living room with comfortable chairs, a kitchen area with cooker, toaster, large fridge etc.. a big bedroom with dressing table, walk in cupboard and bathroom with bath and shower.

We had a balcony which overlooked the sea and our own entrance which opened onto the pool area ( but too cold to go in).

It would be a fabulous place to stay in the summer, when it's naturally warm.

They did try - there was a small fan heater and a fireplace with wood - yes we did light a fire, which did help enourmously.

Just little niggles, which could be sorted for the price you pay - the bathroom taps were very loose, the windows (all single glazed had big gaps - they are part of the charm but they could add draft excluder - several windows had no curtains and the shutters didn't work properly. We also lost all electric at 9.00pm. In fairness the young lady on duty offered for us to swap rooms, but we had unpacked everything and warmed the rooms up so we said no and just borrowed candles - at 8.00am it all came back on.

When it was time to leave we were given maps of the winelands and good routes for scenery were recommended.

Beds were warm and comfortable and if they sort out the minor niggles it would get 10/10

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We spent one night at Auberge Burgundy on the way along garden route. It was a very good choice. This small hotel is very good located, in the centre of Hermanus. Just steps away from cliffs (whale whatching) and restaurants/bars.

Rooms are very cozy, generous and have all comfort you need. Everything very clean. Excellent restaurant on the opposite side of the street (part of the hotel)!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

This was our second time in hermanus and wanted to be walking distance to the town this time around as some guesthouses can be up to 30 mins walk to town. The Auberge is actually in the one of the best locations in town right on the seafront and the front rooms have unobstructed views of the sea which in November means unobstructed views of the whales from your room or balcony. While the rooms at the back of the hotel may not have the same view, you are less than 1min to the sea wall and the whalewatching.
The accomodation in the Auberge is to a very good standard for a guest house. As there was five of us, we booked the penthouse (3 rooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and sitting room) which was slightly better value and a lot more practical than three rooms. Two bedrooms and the living room look out to the sea. However, the master bedroom which has the best views and the ensuite may result in infighting among your group but its all good. The living room comes with an open wood fire which is great to sit around regardless if it is a balmy night outside.
There is no lift to bring us to the third floor in the evening but the free brandy/sherry at reception helped us get up there in the end.
There is a pool in the Auberge too and a few wings to the building which we didn't see but other than the sea view I'd say all is a good there too.
Breakfast is across the road in a separate restaurant but there is upside there as the restaurant is one of the best in Hermanus and the breakfast lives up to that reputation also.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhaleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

we have rtepeatedly returned to the auberge if only to see Salome, Esme & Christine once more. we are treated as old friends but we wouldnt be paying a fairly hefty charge if the place wasn`t so brilliant.. we get, when possible room 15 and we love it..the pool is 2 metres from our door and the terrace has the most gorgeous views over Walker bay.
our breakfast is fine but the restauant (not associated with the auberge ) has deteriorated in the past 2-3 years and one can do better in Hermanus.
it is an amzing little town and if I had to spend the rest of my life anywhere other than N.London it would be hermanus. thank you ladies for another super visit

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilBRIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We found this hotel so delightful! perfect location in the center of Hermanus right near the ocean and close to all the great restaurants and shops. The breakfast was served in the lovely restaurant across the street. Wished we had stayed longer .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bissibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing