We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Auberge....”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #17 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A very special stay for 6 adults in a truly beautiful B&B in Hermanus. Could not recommend it more highly. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Easy walk to restaurants and exercise for long walks along the sea - just beautiful! Breakfast was just beautiful too. Loved the "extra" service of a glass of port and sherry - complimentary too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 716 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very nice B&B, very central! We had a lovely time there and recommend it to anyone! The only incident was for the 2 nights we stay there was 2 different group of people staying there, that were making noise until 2:30 in the morning and after several calls to the security they manage to quite them down. Best regards
Helinton

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helinton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay at Auberge Burgundy, for your friendliness, we will definitely visit again.

This guesthouse is well situated, good value for money we enjoyed the sea view as well as the delicious breakfasts at Burgundy's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ockie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Charming old style family owned hotel with fantastic garden restaurant overlooking the ocean. Friendly and very helpfull staff. Convenient car parking at the entrance.
Not very god for disabled due to stairs.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sverre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our second stay at this excellent guest house. We had Suite No. 1 which is on the top floor overlooking the sea and the town square. Lovely views from all the windows and a small balcony to sit and watch the world go by with a glass of wine. Esme and the rest of the reception staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is across the road at The Burgundy Restaurant, where one can eat outside if weather permits. Breakfast is wonderful with lots of choice and served all morning. We also had dinner at The Burgundy Restaurant which was excellent.
Our room was large, airy and specious and had a small sitting room as well. The large bed was so comfortable. Sadly the bathroom is a bit tired and maybe could do with modernising but the good location and the lovely staff made up for this. We shall certainly be back many times.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We found the staff to be generally friendly and helpful, I presume that the premises is suppose to reflect a tuscan / village / med style... It does resemble it but only just. The rooms are adequate but no song an dance. Signs of neglect could be seen in the room that we occupied. Really bad paint job on the doors and windows an the ceiling repair could be seen the moment we walked in. We also noticed the outside the premises needed some maintenance. Shaded parking is a problem, we were however provided wit undercover parking from the manager with I appreciated. Pity though that the walkways from the park to either the swimming pool or rooms were also used for discarded building rubbish and assorted stuff. Auberge does not have their own resturant, the breakfast is provided across the road which use to belong to the same owners but was subsequently sold. The breakfast there was 5* but the menu prices are ridiculously overpriced! I wouldn't recommend this place as a 4*, it may be a 3* but it is really not that great either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location with a wonderful breakfast included overlooking sea frontage. However, inundated with crickets climbing over bedding and dismal bedroom lighting. The head board was so uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#2 of 87 in Hermanus
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $101 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing