We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #21 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

convenient, don't need to get into your car, room next to pool great, receptionist (Anna Marie?) very friendly, the crickets outside door woke us at 4am, but we killed them the next day and th follwoing night was fine - will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    283
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
108
415
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at Auberge Burgundy. Helpful, cheerful staff. Excellent, central location. Great idea to have vouchers for the restaurant across the road which has spectacular views. Would have been nice to have a few extras in the room like biscuits/snacks at that room rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Meridy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice athmosphere, great location.
Rooms are spacious and clean.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to friends visiting Hermanus
have stayed in this hotel several times before
Staff is very friendly and helpfull




  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay in this lovely guest house.
The staff at the front desk were really helpful booking us dinner reservations etc.
The room was lovely .
The only negative that we had was that we did not think that the breakfast at the burgundy restaurant was the greatest, the coffee was " instant" (the first time for is in our 5 week trip.)

However we would recommend staying here again .

Room Tip: We had the middle first floor which is certainly described as one if their smaller rooms.it is small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calahonda, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. the staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They even have menus for all the local restaurants so you can see exactly what each one is offering before the hotel staff book your table. The breakfast at the Burgundy Restaurant was lovely. Will definitely be going again

Room Tip: Worth having a room by the pool if you enjoy an early morning dip
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this lovely boutique hotel, which is set on the cliffs opposite the old harbour, with fantastic views of the ocean and mountains.
The hotel is styled in French provincial as well as the furnishings. We were
upgraded to the two bedroom penthouse suite with a beautiful lounge and
entrance onto a large balcony with views you would die for. Breakfast in the
Burgandy restaurant directly across the street, (which you can sit inside or out)
was superb, with a dream menu. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CAPETOWN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, North Yorks. Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our 3rd visit,and still as good as the 1st. Fabulous location & friendly staff. Breakfast at the Auberge restaurant superb. Hermanus is a lovely town particularly at Whale watching time. hopefully, we will return in the future.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing