We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of France in SA”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #21 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in SA”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Auberge Burgundy which looks like a French country house that's been there for years (but was actually only built in the mid 90's). Saw it on our first trip to Hermanus in the late 1990's so decided if we ever went to Hermanus again, then we would try and stay there. Could only do 1 night as the hotel was fully booked for the weekend. Our room was opposite the pool which looked lovely. The room was spacious and serene with a generous and comfortable seating area. The bed and linens were excellent. Breakfasts are taken at the Burgundy Restaurant next door. We had to leave early as we had a game at Hermanus GC fixed for 8am but the hotel were extremely helpful and arranged for us to have brunch/lunch afterwards instead. The town has changed and grown since our first visit which suits us. A great place to stay in a relaxing fun holiday town. Would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    284
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
108
415
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were large and sunny with comfortable beds. Everything was clean and tidy and the hotel is close to everything and in a lovely part of Hermanus. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank N U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

very big rooms with a nice view to the garden, own fridge in the room, many cupboards, quite place but still in the heart of the whale watching coast. Just the WiFi in the room was poor, with the iPhone it did not work most of the time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DaniD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wild storm on early saturday morning but we were dry and safe. Very enjoyable weekend despite the weather. We will come back. Location is A1. Staff always helpful and friendly. We find most SA guest houses expensive


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Fantastic location!
Strange damp smell on entering the hotel.
Breakfast is served in a bistro opposite, which was less than average.
Tea and coffee facilities are provided, however the milk in the fridge had turned sour.
The chairs provided on the balcony to enjoy the sea views (and hopefully whale spotting) hadn't been cleaned in months are were filthy.
The bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dendy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Found this hotel browsing internet as needed a night stop on our garden route tour. Staff very friendly. Had lovely room and view of bay amazing from room.
Only problem we had was a leak in our bathroom that we woke up too.

But lovely place otherwise

Room Tip: View of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa7141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there at the end of october 2013. Staff were absolutely kind and helpfull. When we had entered our room we noticed a lot of tiny little animals on our legs and arms. When we brought this to the attention of the lady at the frontdesk, she instantly offered to spray the room. That did the trick, however we did not feel verry comfortable anymore! The room was verry dated, the bathroom looked awfull with lots of wet spots on the walls, a shower that was verry old, and the paint in the room really needs a refreshment. This is not a nice place to stay in, which is unfortunately because the location so near the ocean with the whales is perfect!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Klave2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 41 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing