We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hermanus Hotel”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #20 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hermanus Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The reception from staff was excellent,however new reception staff arrived the day we left and so we cannot comment further on reception.
The hotel position in Hermanus is very well placed for Whale watching,shops and most town eating establishments.
A very good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    286
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
109
416
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a penthouse with 2 rooms and 1 shared bathroom. The penthouse has several downgraded details: the shower head is basic, the shower is in need of renovation, some pieces of furniture are broken, some of the curtains in the main bedroom are dirty and broken, the french doors need renovation and a different system to operate (specially the ones not in the balcony), the rooms need proper blinds (too much light, specially in the main bedroom), the main bedroom does not have a double bed (just 2 single beds put together with separated linens!), there is no place in the bathroom to place anything, the view is not what we expected (side ways from the main bedroom - you really need to go into the balcony to have some view -, and over the roofs from the 2nd room), the location is very nice but very noisy, the breakfast is good but across the street and you need to stick to a restaurant menu (it's not a buffet). Next time we will look for other alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaoJao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We travelled as a family of 4 and booked the Penthouse which has 2 bedrooms with a shared bathroom which unfortunately only had a shower, no bath, and a small basin with hardly any counter space around it and nowhere in the bathroom to place anything which meant we had to put our toiletries on the floor. The 2nd bedroom had 2 single beds for the children, but the main bedroom also had 2 single beds which had been pushed together and even made up as single beds with separate linen, not what one would expect in a penthouse. French doors out of the main bedroom onto the balcony had no blinds or curtains only flimsy plastic sheets that were hooked on to cover the glass resulting in the bedroom being very light very early in the morning. TV reception and channel selection quite poor. Beautiful gardens and a lovely pool area. Very nice breakfast at the Burgundy restaurant across the road. Front facing rooms have amazing views from their balconies but unfortunately quite noisy because of extractor fans from neighboring restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CptChick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeBurgundy, Manager at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and that we did not meet your expectations. In regards to your comments about the room: All the beds in our rooms at the guesthouse comprise of 2 three-quarter beds as many of our guests prefer this configuration. If you would prefer a king-size bed please advise so when checking in or at any other time during your stay and we would be more than happy to assist - we normally make up king size beds for those guests who prefer so.

In terms of the curtains, or lack thereof, in the rooms - the shutters at the guesthouse are not 'mock' shutters and the purpose of them is to be closed at night to keep the room dark and provide security to the room, as well as to diffuse any noise. This is typical in France, and as we are a Provencal guesthouse, we too model our rooms as such. If at any point during your stay you have an issue with your room or anything else at the guesthouse (incl. poor TV reception), please make a point to verbalize these issues to reception so that we can attend to it. Unfortunately if we don't know what the problem is, we cannot fix it.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We LOVED the Auberge Burgundy. The room was neat and comfortable with cute decor. Esme and the staff were all lovely and helpful. The location is ideal for walking around town and accessing the cliff path.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank UStravelinggirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the warm and friendly welcome on our arrival right to our departure we could not fault this lovely guest house . The wonderful staff looked after our every request ....from excellent suggestions for things to do and decent good value for money trips to booking us into restaurants. Everything was lovely. Very spacious accommodation and lovely crisp sheets . Very clean. Well stocked bar and fresh milk every day for the tea or coffee provided in the room. Breakfast across the road was delicious and available until midday In case you go out early to see the whales and want breakfast on your return. Thank you very much and we hope to be back one day....we will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Penthouse overlooking the bay was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton Uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was out third visit to the Auberge Burgundy. The accommodation is of a high standard and the breakfasts over the road were very good. Wonderful views of the bay and the whales from the balcony. All the staff were very welcoming and overall we had a very good break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This guest house is really a perfect place. Whale watching from the balcony! Very comfortable rooms, we got an upgrade to the Penthouse. Thanks to the team for some very enjoyable days! Breakfast in the Restaurant jsut opposite to the guesthouse is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulrich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing