We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful boutique hotel”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #19 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been more. It started with a really friendly greeting when we arrived too early for check in but were encouraged to help ourselves to the free port and sherry!

We had a lovely room at the back of the hotel with a huge bed and a heated floor! Good selection on the TV and plenty of cupboard space to hang our clothes.

Powerful walk in shower and plenty of towels and accessories. Fully filled fridge.

Super location just by the main square with its bars and restaurants and a small car park out front. Perfect French feel to the place. Would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Burgundy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 683 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

What a nice place on the sea front, the rooms are lovely and the staff are same, couldn't do enough to help, we took a trip to see the whales from here, the hotel arranged this for us and got them to pick us up, which was great as we wanted to have a drink with lunch ( alcoholic ) so didn't need to drive. Hermanus is just beautiful. make sure you have some warm clothes if you do the trip at this time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Firstly,do not read the negative reviews of this beautiful little boutique hotel, it does not deserve them. The staff are uber friendly and I doubt you will find such value for money!
Location is to die for as some rooms have a view directly from a postcard.where in the world can you look out your room window and watch whales at play with their young!
Rooms are fresh, clean and very tastefully decorated absolutely no issues at all..well done to the staff for this little oasis.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeBurgundy, Manager at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Merci beaucoup for the lovely review of our guesthouse, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Auberge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great Auberge indeed. We loved our suite - up the stairs on the right. The reception desk were very helpful with advice about dining, walking, attractions getting ice for us and talking about the history of the place.

The door to the balcony lacked a curtain that would keep the light out from the lamp across the street. We make shifted one out of the blanket.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I have stayed three times in this charming Provençal style hotel set in the historic centre of Hermanus, overlooking the picturesque Old Harbour. It is a fabulously stylish and comfortable hotel within fragrant courtyards and stone terraces. the breakfasts are amazing and you can sit out looking across at the southern right whales play with their babies just a few metres off the shore in Walkers Bay, one of the world's most magnificent eco-destinations. If you want a quality hotel for your stay in Hermanus look no further.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan_Targett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely guest house, perfect location, they'd relaxed no children rule for our 6 year old as we had whole of top floor. 2 lovely days for us & breakfast across road in Burgundy restaurent was lovely too

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay. One suggestion though is that guests who retire late at night must be requested to keep their noise levels down, especially when they are walking up stairs or in hallways near other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $108 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing