We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #19 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

stayed one night here in a room next to the pool.lovely spacious room,tastefully decorated,with all the necessary amenities.breakfast facilities across the road were adequate.pool looked inviting,but a bit too cold at this time of the year in south africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    286
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
109
415
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Only had 1 night here unfortunately, would have liked to stay longer. The room overlooking the courtyard was large, light and airy with a lovely Provençale feel to it. Considering it was only built in the last 20 years or so it felt full of character and personality. The breakfast is 'outsourced' to the restaurant across the road which has lovely views across the see and we could see the odd plume from whales as we ate our sunny breakfast. Lovely place to stay, well located..particularly enjoyed the complementary 'nightcap' of local port.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely location almost on the harbour front.

Our rooms were around the swimming pool - incredibly spacious, quiet and tastefully decorated. Really liked having fresh milk and filter coffee provided every day.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant opposite. Great choice and lovely if the weather allows you to sit outside and look over the sea.

My friend particularly enjoyed the complimentary sherry and port you could help yourself to in the lounge ...

Would defo recommend

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozemct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A superbly situated, aesthetically pleasing guest house with friendly, competent staff. Close to the historic Old Harbour, cliff paths, whale viewing sites, good restaurants, interesting little shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

spent one night here in a garden room.excellent. very large room ...well furnished with a little balcony overlooking the garden. very peaceful and quiet.breakfast was across the road in a restaurant...was very good too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius, Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Perfect little piece of Provence, loved it! Would go there again anytime. Very quiet and piecefull with a smell of Lavender. You can see all types of birds drinking from special coloured bottles. You need definitely to experience it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a perfect weekend at the Auberge. Our room was spotless,, spacious and very comfortable. There was much attention to detail to provide this, namely the bedding, bedside tables, lighting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing