We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Peaceful place to stay”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #19 of 85 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Only had 1 night here unfortunately, would have liked to stay longer. The room overlooking the courtyard was large, light and airy with a lovely Provençale feel to it. Considering it was only built in the last 20 years or so it felt full of character and personality. The breakfast is 'outsourced' to the restaurant across the road which has lovely views across the see and we could see the odd plume from whales as we ate our sunny breakfast. Lovely place to stay, well located..particularly enjoyed the complementary 'nightcap' of local port.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Burgundy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 683 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful building in a lovely location almost on the harbour front.

Our rooms were around the swimming pool - incredibly spacious, quiet and tastefully decorated. Really liked having fresh milk and filter coffee provided every day.

Breakfast is taken in the restaurant opposite. Great choice and lovely if the weather allows you to sit outside and look over the sea.

My friend particularly enjoyed the complimentary sherry and port you could help yourself to in the lounge ...

Would defo recommend

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool very spacious and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozemct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A superbly situated, aesthetically pleasing guest house with friendly, competent staff. Close to the historic Old Harbour, cliff paths, whale viewing sites, good restaurants, interesting little shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

spent one night here in a garden room.excellent. very large room ...well furnished with a little balcony overlooking the garden. very peaceful and quiet.breakfast was across the road in a restaurant...was very good too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanaspinall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Perfect little piece of Provence, loved it! Would go there again anytime. Very quiet and piecefull with a smell of Lavender. You can see all types of birds drinking from special coloured bottles. You need definitely to experience it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a perfect weekend at the Auberge. Our room was spotless,, spacious and very comfortable. There was much attention to detail to provide this, namely the bedding, bedside tables, lighting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

this was our second visit. the rooms are big and very clean. the suites are a little bit
noisy, because of neighbours and at 6.00am loud wasteman every day.
i would recommend the gardenrooms with balcony, very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $108 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing