We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short trip to the coast”
Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #20 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“short trip to the coast”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

this was our second visit. the rooms are big and very clean. the suites are a little bit
noisy, because of neighbours and at 6.00am loud wasteman every day.
i would recommend the gardenrooms with balcony, very nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    286
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
109
416
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived on our Harley Davidsons on route to the Karoo. Arrived in a very wet and cold Hermanus. The staff was very helpful, rooms lovely and comfy warm beds. The location is great and so was the breakfast over the road.
Will be back.
Ina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GatewayCountryLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Hermanus, but our first stay at the Auberge Burgundy. It was perfect in every way and we shall certainly stay again next year when we visit South Africa.
Esme greeted us and made us feel so welcome and was charming and most helpfull during our 3 night stay. We had a top floor room with a balcony overlooking the square and the bay. The room was large with a big comfortable bed and there was also a small sitting room which also had sea views. The location is good as you can walk to all the restaurants and shops, watch the world go by from the balcony but its also quiet at night when the shutters are closed.
Breakfast at The Burgundy restaurant across the road is excellent and served at any time during the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MairinaandTonyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having returent to Hermanus many times the last 10 years, we have always prefered the Auberge Burgundy. The location is unbeatable, the auberge is luxurious and comfortable, but most of all the people there are friendly, service minded and makes you really feel welcome. And they give good advice and help you with booking of restaurants, activeties etc. Even though there are many nice places to stay in Hermanus, I doubt you'll find anywhere better when it comes to the combination of genuine atmosphere, friendly people, comfertable rooms and great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HenrikfromOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were 2 couples who spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel on our way from Stellenbosch to Plett. We had 2 corner suites on the front of the hotel. Everything about this smallish hotel is classy, clean and welcoming. The rooms were big, with our own "lounge" area and TV. Huge, comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Would definitely recommend and when we're in Hermanus again, will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-bushwhackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Hotel situated in the best location of Hermanus offers very good value for a pleasant stay. The rooms are spacious and very neat. We stayed in one of the suites, but will book next time a double room as they are adequate and situated at the back of the Hotel overlooking the pretty courtyard garden. The Breakfast at the restaurant opposite the hotel- The Burgandy- was also very pleasant. The only negatives are the beds that are standard size and not extra lenght, the mirror in the dreassing area hangs very low and the shower head is not high enough for tall people. We will definately return to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndreRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

beautiful views and homely spacious rooms with very helpful staff
excellent and friendly welcomes and very accomadating resturant next door the burgundy with great food. Right in centre of town close to everything fantastic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ernest J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#3 of 86 in Hermanus
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing