We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge Burgundy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Burgundy
Ranked #21 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After browsing through tripadvisor and reading numerous reviews I finally decided to book at Auberge Burgandy. I really wanted somewhere centrally located and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, markets and the most popular whale viewing areas. Auberge Burgandy provided all of this and more. I was very pleased and would highly recommend Auberge Burgandy to all the people I know. A lot of the B & B’s including the number 1 rated B & B are located away from central Hermanus which means you would have to drive everywhere. From the booking to our departure Esme and the staff were fantastic.

I booked two garden rooms as they were easily accessible for my mother and elderly grandparents (less stairs) while my husband and I stayed in a pool suite. The rooms were gorgeous. I really can’t understand why people complained about the furniture etc in previous posts as everything was lovely. I really liked the fact there were walk in closets and we had more than enough space to put our clothes and things. They were kind enough to provide milk and tea and coffee making facilities for free (including a coffee press for those who don’t drink instant coffee). The suite was great because it had a little kitchen with everything you could possible need. We also had a fireplace and they also provided everything you would need to make a fire.

We were in the corner suite and had a view of the bay but didn’t bring binoculars so couldn’t really see the whales from our balcony. Other people with balconies nearby had binoculars and had a good view of the whales. However when we were having breakfast in the outdoor seating area of ‘The Burgandy’ restaurant there were 5 whales playing in the sea directly in front of us. The breakfast was lovely and I really liked the location. It was not a buffet or anything so if you are expecting to gorge yourself you will be sorely disappointed. You can order anything on the breakfast menu and have a coffee/tea and an orange juice. My family ordered different things from smoked salmon to a normal English style breakfast and we were all very happy.

I would describe Auberge as more of a boutique hotel with rooms and suites than a B&B. It wasn’t like you were staying in someone’s house where they cook you a homemade breakfast. If you are expecting that you should book elsewhere.

On a side note if you have want to eat out at a restaurant at the weekend they get fully booked quickly. We didn’t book and were lucky to get a table at our chosen restaurant.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    277
    62
    26
    6
See reviews for
106
410
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We, family, stayed for one night in Hermanus as part of our 2 week S Africa tour. This is a beautiful guest house, with stunning rooms fabulous decorated and with great character. We had two rooms in the 'courtyard' area adjacent to the main house and swimming pool.
Very good service, - though your breakfast is taken at restaurant on the other side of the road - very good too.
Location is excellent - they have parking on site, and whole town is walkable - and you can literally see the whales from your bedroom door. Hermanus is a delightful spot - dozens of whales around on the day we visited which of course helped, and weather superb too.
Would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: The two room s we had between us were both excellent furnished, spotlessly clean and with lots of ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfectly situated within walking distance of town and wonderful harbour. The hotel's gardens are a treat and their rooms perfectly adequate for an 'Auberge'. They make no pretence that they are a 5 star hotel, however to not stay here you will be missing out of one of the experiences Hermanus offers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingedPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived in Hermanus after a long drive and were greeted warmly. The receptionist recommended some things to do nearby and a lovely spot for lunch down by the sea. Our room was gorgeous with lovely airy and relaxed decor, sitting room area and balcony with views of the sea. It is very centrally located too. We had such a great time relaxing in the room we decided to make the most of it and get takeaway and drink lovely local wines on the balcony. Lovely area downstairs too with books and sherry and port. Made our holiday.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeBurgundy, Owner at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Auberge Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and made our own arrangements directly with the guesthouse. We were able to park in the small carpark and our cases were taken to our room by the gent who provides night cover and security. We paid extra for a suite with a view of Walker Bay and our room was very spacious with 2 comfortable single beds. We appreciated the fresh fruit on our arrival, the tea and coffee-making facilities and the balcony. Wardrobe and storage space were in a separate room adjacent to the bathroom which gave the bedroom a very spacious feel with its plain but attractive decor. No bath unfortunately and the bathroom was looking a bit dated - a little more luxury would have been appreciated in a suite.We did not have time to explore the gardens but they looked very attractive and there is a swimming pool. Wifi is a flat R30 regardless of the length of stay. We enjoyed reading in the small residents' lounge which is nicely decorated and offers plenty of books and magazines/tourist information. We also enjoyed a complimentary glass of either SA "port" and "sherry"! Breakfasts were taken at the Burgundy restaurant just across the road and were excellent - see my review of the restaurant. Staff were friendly and attentive - if the weather is good then dine al fresco, the views are lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Still no eating on site. No wi-fi unless you are very near reception. Needs a little more wow. This is the third time we have stayed and will be the last. There are better places to stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AubergeBurgundy, Owner at Auberge Burgundy, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us in April. We have completed our renovations this winter, as promised, including a better wifi connection (which is also now free for guests). Other changes include: a new deck at the swimming pool, (the pool was also redone); the lounge was renovated; all rooms were repainted and have custom painted furniture from local artist Pieter Vermaak; all rooms now have flat screen TVs; new lights were fitted throughout the rooms; bathrooms have been upgraded; new mats and floors; the penthouse has been completely redone and now consists of 2 separate suites which can still operate as a full unit.

We invite you to please come and stay with us again to experience the changes for yourself. Hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

The Auberge Burgundy Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, close by and in walking distance to the town. The breakfasts at the Burgandy Restaurant across the hotel is superb. The room was spacious and wonderfully decorated. The shower and matress was good. Great service as well, staff are all friendly. Would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Near the back of the hotel is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
74 on Marine
74 on Marine
#3 of 42 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Burgundy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Burgundy

Property: Auberge Burgundy
Address: 16 Harbour Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Burgundy 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auberge Burgundy is a family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Hermanus, near the iconic Old Harbour. Many of our rooms have magnificent sea-views, giving one the opportunity to do some whale watching from your balcony, or cross the road and do some whale watching from the cliffs. Hermanus is renowned for being one of the best places in the world for land-based whale watching, in addition to great white shark diving and Blue Flag beaches. The Auberge will strive to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Burgundy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Burgundy Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing