We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
195
112
33
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
112
33
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate house double room braai area private bathroom one night place to stay whale watching tour well equipped kitchen clean rooms the main house swimming pool garden route family room quiet area tea and coffee lovely place home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 350 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night while passing through town. The reception staff was friendly and very helpful at pointing out what the town has to offer. The room was large with lots of space and even a small locker to put your belongings (provide your own lock). The cons of the room where that it only had one outlet. With there being a double bed and two sets of bunk beds, so up to 6ppl having only one plug in was a huge inconvenience. The corridors were also very noisy so getting a good nights sleep was not an option. However, this being a typical backpackers hostel one should not expect too much.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is exactly what you would expect of a backpackers hostel. That isn't to say that is a bad thing. Rooms were dated as expected though they were clean. My girlfriend and I shared a private room by the pool area. The room was spacious but was very cold during the height of the South African winter. It was very noisy outside as you would expect being situated around the communal area. Staff were friendly and helped with booking excursions. A small breakfast of toast and tea/coffee is included. The town of Hermanus is just beautiful and was our favorite place through the garden route. The hostel is located about a 15 minute walk from the main part of town. If you are backpacking the garden route and the using the convenient Baz Bus then I highly recommend visiting Hermanus, and this backpackers isn't the worst place you could stay.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and booked the shark cage dive through them (100R off the double per person) and they were really on top of email replies when organizing that for us! The kitchen is big and clean and the communal area is colourful and funky with lots of articles about Hermanus and its wildlife. We stayed in a big double which was clean and comfortable, the bathrooms were also clean. The owners and staff are more than willing to help you out with whatever your looking for in terms of whales, sharks, wines, etc! Best backpackers around !

Date of stay: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Only stayed here one night while passing through as we had an early rise the next day for whale watching. The guys at reception we really nice, friendly and helpful, giving directions to everything in town!! The room was clean with a comfortable bed but only one plug-in so we had to take turns using this. Also, our room was right by main door, reception and bathrooms, so we could hear everyone and everything. It was an okay place to stay for one night, but would have to either switch rooms for another night or stay somewhere else.

Room tip: Ask for room away from main entrance!!
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hostel was really nice. They picked us up from the baz bus stop and we arrived they had a barbecue that night, it was really good and for a good price. The staff was also always very friendly and helpful about all our questions.

We stayed in the dorm wich we had for ourselves. It was really spacious and clean.

But the best here was the whale watching. In Hermanus we had one of our best days of our whole trip around Africa. Just come here for the whale season and you will have the best experience of your life!!! We loved it and will definetly come back!!

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews