We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, amazing town!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hostel was really nice. They picked us up from the baz bus stop and we arrived they had a barbecue that night, it was really good and for a good price. The staff was also always very friendly and helpful about all our questions.

We stayed in the dorm wich we had for ourselves. It was really spacious and clean.

But the best here was the whale watching. In Hermanus we had one of our best days of our whole trip around Africa. Just come here for the whale season and you will have the best experience of your life!!! We loved it and will definetly come back!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I just wanted to write a quick review to say how great this backpackers is :)

I was a lone traveller and Hayley and the other team members made me feel so welcome. I took a private room which was basic but had every thing that was needed, including tea coffee and bread etc.. to make toast in the morning. The team were helpful even before my arrival helping me organise a shark dive (well worth it) and a whale watch (which I couldn't do due to weather) The team helped me out with directions and the best places to watch whales from the cliffs (and a good bar too - cocos).

I would totally recommend that you visit this backpackers as they will help you make the most of Hermanus.:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been in lots of backpackers, and can defiantly say it was the best!!

Very worm and good atmosphere! The staff was very kind, always love to help at any time.

We stayed for a few nights, in a double bed room, and also took a dorm bed for one night.. Everything was great, both rooms were much more than I expected! Not one bad thing to say!!

Love to get there again some time

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Limor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind,give you help every time you need them.
Perfect location,near the sea and near the town,everything is close by.
The rooms look good and clean,you get to use for free a computer with internet,which is great.
Nice breakfast.

Best hostel we have visited in whole South Africa.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great place, refreshing to have the atmosphere of a real hostel after some boring places in Cape Town - very staff, plenty of places to chill, free brews, and toast in the morning.
The white water rafting organised via their activities list is a bit dodgy though.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank ootopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the absolutely best backpackers we've stayed in in SA. The staff was friendly, the building just beautiful and you could easily pay with your credit card. Wifi was good enough. The braai they make is enough to make me wanna return. Again, again and again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the little cottage around the corner: 2 rooms + kitchenette + sitting area, so you (almost) have your own holiday home at a bargain price. Good braai in the main house. Super helpful owners/staff (they arranged all our tours in a minimum of time). We loved our stay, txs all!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: $20 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing