We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the absolutely best backpackers we've stayed in in SA. The staff was friendly, the building just beautiful and you could easily pay with your credit card. Wifi was good enough. The braai they make is enough to make me wanna return. Again, again and again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 312 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the little cottage around the corner: 2 rooms + kitchenette + sitting area, so you (almost) have your own holiday home at a bargain price. Good braai in the main house. Super helpful owners/staff (they arranged all our tours in a minimum of time). We loved our stay, txs all!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a dorm. Would definitely stay here again.

Pros
- very friendly staff
- cutest dog
- met some great people here
- good handout/lounge area
- large self serve kitchens
- bar in the back
- close to shops
- secure parking available
- free breakfast - toast, coffee, and tea
- owners make you feel very welcome
- free wifi

Cons
- not the cleanest of places (ie bathrooms) but definitely livable.
- very busy on weekends (for people who like a quiet place)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean rooms, good breakfast and really relaxed atmosphere. Unfortunately we stayed only one night, but this backpackers is definitely a place to be comfortable. We met nice people and the stuff was friendly to help with everything. Free Wifi completes the impession.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kerstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the cottage round the corner from the main backpackers. It had a total of (I think) 6 rooms all of which were en-suite. Ours was super clean, comfy double bed and also a double bunk, the kitchen has a ten seater table and is the most modern kitchen I've seen in a backpackers. I loved all the paintings on the walls and the lounge had plenty couches with a fireplace and TV with all the channels which is important to catch a big game ;) Beautiful garden with a divine pool but it was too cold to swim. Extremely good value for money, couldn't quite believe it actually!

Room Tip: It was quiet when we were there so it's hard to say if it were busy what it would be like. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimandRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked to stay at Hermanus Backpackers purely due to the fact that they offered a shark cage diving offer. If you booked the trip through them, they gave you R100 discount each per night, making the stay pretty cheap.

When we arrived, we were asked to pay a lot more than we were expecting to. After questioning why, we were told: 'oh, the shark diving has been cancelled, weren't you informed? That means you have to pay the full price'. After much debate, we agreed to pay the full amount, even though it was no way our fault that the shark diving had been cancelled after we had booked it. The guy on reception was so rude and unapologetic that I considered leaving there and then, but then decided to stay otherwise seeing as we'd be charged for the room regardless.

Let me just state that if we weren't getting the discount, I would NEVER have booked to stay here. Out of our two week tour of South Africa, this was by far the dirtiest, run down, overcrowded place (we stayed in 12 different hotels, guesthouses and hostels) and it wasn't even the cheapest! Do yourself a favour and use your money to book a much nicer place for the same price.

The taps in the bathroom span around, the toilet was filthy, the curtains fell down etc etc. I will post photos soon.

To rub salt into our wounds, upon check out the guy at the desk tried to charge us for the room, even though we had already paid the full amount on arrival. He hadn't even bothered to make a note of this. We placed the key on the desk and walked out, happy to get out of that place and on to the next clean hostel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vctorianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff were super friendly, enthusiastic and welcoming. I stayed in a dorm which was nice with comfortable beds. The hostel was pretty clean but they do have a dog thats often around so consider that if you're allergic. I think the kitchens and dining area got pretty crowded in the evening but that happens at most hostels. I had a great stay and I really liked Hermanus town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasminaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
6.7 mi away
Fisherhaven Traveller's Lodge
0.2 mi away
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: $12 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing