We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a lovely little private ensuite room at the back of the property with a really comfy bed although the bathroom could do with being refurbished. Breakfast was extra but wifi was included and car parking was just in front of the building. In the evenings we walked into town and back, sticking to the main roads. The staff were really, really nice and the bar was cheap and cheerful with free pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    96
    32
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped there on our way to Gansbaai and I had booked it as it allowed us to get a discount for our shark cage diving tour. We booked the double en-suite that was spacious and clean-ish. The best thing about this backpackers is the braai area and the pub/snooker room where you can get very nice burgers/ salad cooked by a lovely lady. The staff are very nice and friendly and so is the owner that spent most of the evening chatting away with us. Great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the best backpackers we stayed at in South Africa. We stayed in the satellite house around the corner from the regular backpackers. This house is clearly set aside for quiet couples and families and it was just what we needed. The house has three family rooms and two couples rooms, as well as a cottage in the back garden that also sleeps 4 people and has its own kitchen and bath. We had a family room with an attached bath. The house facilities are excellent with a sitting room complete with satellite tv and free wifi. The kitchen is large with a table that sits 12. There is sufficient crockery and cooking utensils and all the appliances are in excellent working order. There is a night watchman that comes by several times during the evening, and he even set up and lit the fireplace in the lounge because it was very cold and windy during our visit. Kitchen staff comes by in the morning to make pap (corn porridge) and toast, juice, coffee, tea and milk is provided in the morning. The house was immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, and every member of the staff was smiling, helpful and kind. Frankly, this backpackers was better than some of the B&Bs that we stayed in. It was a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are traveling along the Garden Route and you don't stop at Hermanus Backpackers, you are seriously missing out! When you walk in you are immediately greeted by smiling faces and welcomed with open arms. The fun wall colors, fabulous paintings and extremely comfy lounge areas are sure to make your stay a relaxing one. They have a crystal clear pool, and just upgraded their bar area (which is absolutely gorgeous). The braai's that they prepare at night are delicious and their new "restaurant" addition is to die for! On top of all of those goodies they even give you a FREE dorm bed (super clean rooms - the ladies do an awesome job) if you book Shark Diving - this is a MUST! FREE wifi is also available :) You are in walking distance from the town, minutes from the shore, and during whale season you can see these beautiful creatures by the dozens and even KAYAK with them! If you're up for a wine tour, or a night on the town, the incredible staff members will be sure to show you the ropes. Emma, Kyle, Arno and Leani are by FAR the greatest staff members you will ever come across! It's worth staying more than just one night and if you're lucky, you may even find love ;) Do yourself a favor and stay here. I promise you wont regret it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great Backpackers in Hermanus!
Nice, clean rooms with big bathrooms for a very good price!
Great discount on shark cage diving! 995 ZAR + free Dorm or 100 ZAR discount per Person on a double!
Even 100 ZAR discount on whale watching tour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We loved this backpacker! We had a lovely double room in one of their houses! With our own pool and kitchen! The guys were so helpful right from the word go! And got a great discount on our whale watching boat trip. They showed us maps and places to go both free and trips! But didn't try and flog anything to us! Also the bar and BBQ/fire area is amazing. Also were invited to join one of the staffs bday party which was nice! Would definately visit here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fully7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is a great base for Hermanus - just 10mins walk to the town centre & Gearings Point (awesome whale watching).
The hotel has everything - Quiet lounge; Tv Lounge; x2 Kitchens; Pool; Braii; Bar with Free Pool table.
The staff are friendly, helpful & really energetic...
The rooms are clean & fresh with plenty of space - they have even got lockers (bring your own padlock) and there is a safe in reception for passports, etc.
Sometimes the bar can get a bit noisy which may annoy some people (I was fine) but it does close at 11pm.... All in all a great place to stay.... oh Free WiFi & computer too..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Zoete Inval Travellers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing