We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermanus Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermanus Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We loved this backpacker! We had a lovely double room in one of their houses! With our own pool and kitchen! The guys were so helpful right from the word go! And got a great discount on our whale watching boat trip. They showed us maps and places to go both free and trips! But didn't try and flog anything to us! Also the bar and BBQ/fire area is amazing. Also were invited to join one of the staffs bday party which was nice! Would definately visit here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fully7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    96
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
89
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is a great base for Hermanus - just 10mins walk to the town centre & Gearings Point (awesome whale watching).
The hotel has everything - Quiet lounge; Tv Lounge; x2 Kitchens; Pool; Braii; Bar with Free Pool table.
The staff are friendly, helpful & really energetic...
The rooms are clean & fresh with plenty of space - they have even got lockers (bring your own padlock) and there is a safe in reception for passports, etc.
Sometimes the bar can get a bit noisy which may annoy some people (I was fine) but it does close at 11pm.... All in all a great place to stay.... oh Free WiFi & computer too..!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, not in the main building but the house just around the corner. The room was small but extremely clean and with own bathroom. Plus, there was a kind of a living room just before, with sofas and a fire-placed. We were the only ones to use it during our stay. So, it felt like we had a 2-room hotel. Hayley was great even before going to Hermanus with lots of tips on how to arrange our stay and what activities to do. We didn't do the Shark Tour and it was too windy and rainy to do the whale-watching tour on boat (luckily we did see the whales from the shore). But this is a nice place to spend one or two nights and explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in July in the private, ensuite rooms (390 ZAR/room/night). We took advantage of a deal through Great White Shark Tours and got money off our shark dive if we stayed in one of the backpacker places in Hermanus. The rooms were clean here and the bathrooms were overly spacious. I was in room K which is essentially across from the bar, so it was noisy until midnight, even though the bar closes at 11pm--just FYI if you stay in those rooms. There was wifi available in the common area--kinda slow, but did the trick. There was also toast, etc. available in the mornings for breakfast. The staff was friendly and gave us advise on places to visit along the Garden Route. We probably wouldn't have stayed here if it wasn't for the shark dive deal because 390 ZAR was expensive considering the overall quality of the room, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights and I must say that I really enjoyed the hostel.

The location is excellent...within walking distance of the beach, where if you just sit and relax, you will be rewarding with many whale sightings!

The rooms were clean and comfortable and the place had a generally welcoming and cosy feel to it, which is always a bonus at a hostel. Nice staff, too.

There were also two adorable dogs onsite!! They lent a special part to the overall ambience and warmth of the place.

A very good choice!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed in a lot of backpackers over 13 years of travelling and this has to be in my top 3 favourites. The staff are awesome and can't do enough to make your stay perfect, as a line traveller I felt like I was at home with friends I'd know for years. The hostel is very relaxed, clean and the dorm room I stayed in was spacious with lots of light from the bay windows and with lockable cupboards. They have an amazing deal with the shark dive company (highly recommended ) and the horse riding they recommend is fantastic. I couldn't have asked for more really. Hermanus itself is beautiful with good night life, pristine beaches, safe, clean streets and beautiful walks. You'd be crazy to miss out on this hostel as I miss it so much :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and thought it was excellent! The staff really knew what they were doing and we got a great deal on the Shark Cage Dive through them. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the bar was perfect for cheap drinks and meeting lots of great people. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfq2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermanus Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermanus Backpackers

Property: Hermanus Backpackers
Address: 26 Flower Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus Backpackers and Budget accommodation offers spacious chill areas, swimming pool, free WI-FI and free Breakfast to all guests. With a variety of room styles incl: Dorm rooms, twin rooms, triple rooms, double, double en-suites & en-suite family rooms, there is a room for every budget traveler.Room Rates start at R130 per person/per night with discounts for guests doing shark cage diving (enquire when booking)The Backpackers Budget accommodation is separate from the backpackers accommodation with it's own kitchen, garden, braai facilities and private bathrooms it offers excellent family and budget accommodation for the more discerning budget traveler.Hermanus Backpackers is a 5 minute walk into town and the famous cliff paths where Whales can be seen in season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hermanus Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing