We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, with service to match”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Gorgeous boutique hotel, within walking distance (along a stunning clifftop path) of Hermanus. The service blew us away, and the food was lovely. The fact that all the food, laundry and minibar,was all included seemed amazing and just added to our enjoyment of the place. Will go back , hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Birkenhead House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent three nights at this lovely hotel at the end of a business trip. Set atop a cliff with a commanding view of the ocean, Birkenhead House is truly beautiful. The rooms are large and exceptionally well appointed and the views are spectacular. What sets this property apart, however, is the outstanding service from all staff members. From the informative driver who took us to several nearby wine farms to the excellent barman, everyone was extremely warm and helpful, attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajax1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Birkenhead House in Hermanus is a whale-watching paradise, this super luxurious boutique hotel is perfect for those seeking a uniquely different seaside experience with magnificent views. Shane Brummer, the GM is delightful and all the staff eager to assist with any aspect of your stay. Long walks on the beach, relaxing at the pool, sipping cocktails or partaking in the magnificent cuisine are the order of the day here. The portfolio also offers unique accommodations in Franschhoek at La Residence as well as a safari option at Royal Malewane, situated in the Thornybush Private Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger Area. The Royal Portfolio forms a unique Southern African 5* circuit with an emphasis on luxury travel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigfootAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Breathtaking! That is one word that would describe this place. Once we arrived and saw the ocean views, we couldn't look away! The rooms were great with huge bathrooms and a private patio. We were able to take some hikes along the trails that were alongside the ocean. The service and people were very attentive. Just a couple blocks away was a hiking trail up a mountain that also gave us a great view of the surrounding towns. We can't say enough good things about this place and hope to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

First: Get proper directions and you will find birkenhead house & villa easily - i have stayed in both several times and i am a "returnee" - the house an villa are built in such an endearing way that you truly feel at home - comfort at its best!
you are greeted upon arrival so nicely, so normal by the staff members (any of them) that you feel being welcomed.
each room is designed with cottage-like furniture on a high standard, wonderful beds (decorated on your arrival day with flowers and herbs from their garden - so sweet) good contemporary south african paintings are adorning the walls, bathrooms are beautiful designed with up-to-date amenities and enough room for movement.
the hotels is stretched with fish-ponds, easy stairs to climb, a lounge held in white with soft sofas and chairs, an adjoining dining-area (used for breakfast as well) and windows, big windows with the direct view onto the sea or in season, the whales.
from this terrace you have access to a walking path between the shrubs and dunes, leading either to hermanus down town or to the next bay.
sun beds and towels are here provided and before you consider to sit down , you will be asked if you need any help or drink or whatsoever (same at their pool, not too big unfortunately but big enough for a good dip).
their spa is worthy to visit, good massages, good products but nothing special.
one bitter drop: the dinner.... I had been there eating with every stay and always hoped that there would be a change to the better but unfortunately never was the food really good, sometimes below average (overcooked, smacked on the plate, confusing seasoning, etc), sad!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Absolutely tremendous; I included a visit to Hermanus primarily because I wanted to go to Birkenhead House and even then I was very pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail of the service which was exemplary, the view (AMAZING), and the whole experience. I am very fussy and rarely satisfied; I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone, it is fabulous.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 8 which I could not fault. We originally selected room 11 and saw that bef...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the best small hotel i have ever stayed in. From the welcome at the door to the service throughout. They have an excelled masseuse, amazing chefs and a gorgeous boutique. The views are second to none, we missed whale season and intend to go back later this year to see that as you would be in the best position to view whilst sunbathing by the pool on the terrace. We didn't leave the hotel for 3 days - next time we want to go for at least a week. The design is a mix of modern and african and you could not wish for more. Im a huge fan and i travel a lot plus I'm a fussy eater and they bent over backwards to accommodate that

Room Tip: that would be telling we don't want it to be booked up when we try and go! their suites are exc...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelImpressive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
930 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $655 - $1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing