We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and attention to detail you cant beat.”
Review of Birkenhead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birkenhead House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service and attention to detail you cant beat.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Birkenhead Villa is a hop and a skip from the boutique hotel and a gorgeous little beach, and offers all the excellence of a hotel with the privacy, exclusivity and personal service of a villa. The chef was wonderful - chatting to us about each dish he created and he even made pizza with our kids. Heading to bed we were met with chocolate dipped strawberries, a foam bath and champagne - wonderful attention to detail and a generous culture of gifting, with little treats around every corner. With our business Villas&Africa handpicking properties like this, we are delighted to find something this wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    23
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
300
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in some nice places before. The location is breath taking; watching whales over breakfast is something that shouldn’t be missed. The staff were so friendly and couldn’t have done enough for us. The food was delicious with an excellent wine list. We sadly only had 2 nights here and wish it was at least a week. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Birkenhead House for our honeymoon and we absolutely feel in love with it. The staff were all absolutely charming and helpful and the food and wine were both phenomenal. The hotel itself is small with only 11 rooms - Our room (Room 7) was very spacious and had everything we could have wanted. Despite the hotel being full, we didn't feel that it was at all overcrowded. The views from the back terrace were truly magical particularly as we managed to spot lots of whales just sitting there whilst sipping on a gin and tonic! The only downside was that we wished that we had been able to stay for longer! We are already planning another trip. Thoroughly reccommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiePetras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

this was out second stay at Birkenhead House and it was every bit as fantstic as our first stay 2 years ago. The room we were given had a balcony overlooking the sea at the front with another balcony at the back to catch the morning sun. Service at Brikenhead House manages to be immaculate while still retaining a warmth that makes you feel welcome. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt enveloped in a sense of being speical guests. And they were so kind as I was having trouble with my back and absolutely everything was done to make lfe easier for me. The food is wonderful, the wine good and the views from the front are the best we have ever had. Imagine just sitting on the terrace supping delicious drinks ( all included) watching the whales play off shore or watching the sunset while listening to an african band. I cannot think of anything they can improve on. A special thanks to Estea who was so helpful in everyway including reversing the car up the slope!

Room Tip: We have had a number of different rooms and allhad sea views and were beautifully decorated. The bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This family run ,exclusive 5 star guest house ,perched on a magnificent view site spanning blue flag beaches Voelklip and Kamma Bay is indeed the best on offer in the entire western cape
The profound impact of the world class art collection,set off against the awesome Walkerbay,with its whales,blue sky,warm sunshine and powder white beaches is simply unbeatable
The staff,headed by the friendly and very professional Shane,are focused totally on the needs of the guests
The quality of the people who visit from all over the world is the cherry on top,making for lasting friendship formation
The food and wine list will satisfy the most discerning and demanding palate
Great value for money,and the right place for a relaxed romantic getaway with that someone very special in your life

Room Tip: The front sea facing will blow you away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When we arrived at Birkenhead we were immediately overwhelmed with the warm welcome of the staff and the beautiful location. Everything was so clean, the tables were already covered for lunch and we received a glass of champagne. We had a beautiful room (n°7) with sea view and 3 times a day we were surprised with a small attention in the room. We booked a standard room, but got an upgrading to a luxery room. This is the mentallity of the house! Everybody was always ready to give us good advice, a warm feeling,..: just a big place with a familiar atmosphere! The food and drinks were exceptional. The location surpass all expectation. We really regret, we couldn't stay longer, but we hope to go back in the future. We are travelling all over the world and already stayed in very nice hotels, but we can say that this is one of the best if you compare everything: gratitude, service, accommodation,... JUST A MAGIC PLACE WITH MAGIC PEOPLE!

Room Tip: Ask for room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sturke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I agonized over the rating for this hotel and vacillated between a 5 and a 1 so I compromised with a 3. The hotel is stunning, The views of the bay and the whales are magical and the food and service was impeccable.

The only thing preventing me from giving it a 5 is the fact that when we returned to our room after dinner we found bugs (I think they were termites) in the bed. The management quickly addressed this issue -- they stripped the bedding and mattress pad, turned the mattress over to make sure there were no critters lurking and brought fresh linen and duvet. I wouldn't accept this at any hotel regardless of price, however, at $1,000 per night this is inexcusable. I still can't figure out how the bugs eluded the person who made the bed and the person who did the turndown service.

Room Tip: Room 1 has fabulous views of the bay from it's two terraces. The room was the smallest of the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EH10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
2.6 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
909 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkenhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkenhead House

Property: Birkenhead House
Address: Cnr of 7th 11th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Birkenhead House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Hermanus cliffs, the regal Birkenhead House overlooks the whale watching paradise of Walker Bay. Accommodating guests in the utmost luxury, this is the perfect destination for those seeking the pinnacle of seaside living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Birkenhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkenhead House & Villa Hotel Hermanus
Birkenhead House And Villa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing