We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, clean and well situated Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Birdsong, Hermanus

Birdsong Verandah with stunning view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birdsong Verandah with stunning view
View of the house and lake looking down from the mountain Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Birdsong Verandah with stunning view
View of the house and lake looking down from the mountain
Living Area
Kitchen
Sunny Second bedroom with views
Third Bedroom upstairs
Sparkling family bathroom - newly renovated
Eating area under the Milkwoods
Dining area and the outside area at the back
Sunset from the Verandah
The pan filled with flamingos. Taken from verandah
Trip Advisor photo 2nd Bedroom
2nd Bedroom Tr/Adv photo
Looking at the house from the Pan  Tr/Adv Photo
Birdsong veranda - stunning view
Tr/Adv photo View of Pan from 2nd bedroom
Tr/Adv photo 3rd Bedroom
Tr/Adv Photo.  
3rd Bedroom
Tr Adv photo  
3rd Bedroom
Tr/Adv photo 
Loft with singles beds and bathroom
Tr/Adv photo 
Upstairs Bathroom
Tr/Adv photo 
Upstairs bathroom
Tr/Adv photo 
Open plan Dining, lounge and kitchen
Tr/Adv photo.  
Sitting room
Tr/Adv photo.  
Sitting room and windows onto Pan showing wood burning stove and TV
Tr/Adv photo.  
Well equipped kitchen
Tr/Adv photo
Kitchen
Tr/Adv photo
From kitchen thro to Living Area
Tr/Adv photo
Kitchen looking out to back garden
Tr/Adv photo
Main bedroom
Tr/Adv photo
Kitchen appliances
Tr/Adv photo
Bathroom No 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hermanus, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SonzieTan...
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean and well situated Cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We were a group of 8 birders sharing this delightful cottage. Plenty of room to move without falling over each other. Cottage had absolutely everything we needed and as birders we enjoyed the salt pan full of birds right on our doorstep. The Milk Wood trees are gorgeous and created wonderful shade for parking as well as sitting outside. The three bathrooms were clean and quite adequate for the 8 of us. Bedrooms spacious and everything felt fresh. We loved the veranda and had plenty of space to sit inside and outside. Highly recommended for anyone who wants a break away with some peace and tranquility. Would go back for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the house suited your needs. We would welcome you back .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peripatus...
Giessen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

we had a wonderful stay at Birdsong. Everything was perfect! The house was well equipped, spotless clean and the beds very comfortable. The views from the deck were amazing and we were enjoying a sundowner while looking at cormorants and flamingos at the pan. Great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and hope to see you back again! Guests like you who are such good communicators and enjoy your surroundings as well as leaving everything so neat and tidy are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallion20...
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“A perfect, peaceful well kept secret”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent a most wonderful relaxing weekend in Birdsong, enjoying the beauty of the nature reserve from our very own veranda. We viewed a huge variety of colourful birds on the salt pan and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this unique setting. Birdsong is fully equipped and every need is taken care of. It is furnished with superior quality finishes and is a light and airy space. Ideal for those who desire time away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
It was a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted that you enjoyed what Birdsong has to offer. Guests like you who communicate well and leave the place so neat are always welcome. We would love to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyager70...
2 reviews
“Lovely view in a tranquil setting from a cosy house”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house is warmly decorated and is spacious but still cosy. Ideal for two families with children or a very large family but if it is just two of you the downstairs open plan area with adjoining bedrooms will not leave you feeling lost in an impersonal space. A really lovely stay and would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
I am so glad you had a good stay. You were wonderful guests: so easy to communicate with you. We would welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Loved the flamingos!”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is a big house with a lovely location on the pan. There were only 4 of us, so it felt a little like we were rambling around in all the space. The highlight was definitely the bird life, especially the flamingos. It's about 15 minutes to Hermanus, but there is quite a nice beach a short drive away.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_mrs_s_r...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing get away”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The house has everything you could possibly need and so much more. Spotless clean, stunning views, beautiful furnished, amazing artwork, well located and easy to find. An absolute gem that we are looking forward to visiting again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjackso...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Serene and special - lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Peaceful almost spiritual setting gazing from the well set up veranda overlooking the salt pan full of birds - perfect for twitchers. Easy walk to the picturesque cliff walk that leads to the beach at Onrus Excellent accommodation with good quality linen and bedding plus a fully fitted kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher - short of nothing you could want. Includes a gardener and an excellent cleaner once a week, plus the delightful Daphne and husband who looked after our every need.
Good WIFI signal - it did not bother us that there was no DSTV as the setting had all of us entranced.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time and were able to enjoy all that BIrdsong offers. I hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing