We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Most enjoyable evening"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Voorskooten - CLOSED

De Voorskooten
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are moved. You can visit us in the Restaurant Dorf.Krug - The Village Beer Garden, maybe 50m far in 19 Long Street.
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Most enjoyable evening"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

The food and service was absolutely delightful from start to finish. The presentation was gorgeous and every bite tasted better than the previous. Our hosts Andrea and Wolf lovely and very charming and added to the enjoyment of the evening. I cannot wait to go back.

Eileen and John - Hermanus

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Thank You for this lovely evening in your restaurant. This food is perfect, the service excellent and the atmosphere so lovely. Your bread for the waiting time is a beautiful idea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank we4us44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal we had in years, but improvement in service needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The food in "De Voorskooten" was the best we had in years. The chef is a real genius. 5 stars for this / her. You definitely have to give it a try, you won't regret it.
On the other hand the service really needs improvement. As we got to know, the owner started this business in June, so it is new them, but in my opinion they are really enthusiastic. 3 stars for that.
If you are willing to overlook this this little lack of service, go and eat there - the food is definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank t_phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Never had the unbelievable experience of leaving a restaurant (before placing a drinks order). Although received very friendly the total ineptitude of the owners showed signs of a disaster in waiting. Not going to wait. Needless to say we were the only patrons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchout47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Oxtail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Best oxtail in Hermanus - no - wherever! Apart of the excellent food, such an interesting setting and splendid hosts! A real asset for Hermanus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ymile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Voorskooten also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing