We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Col'Cacchio

Col'Cacchio
Ranked #43 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant had a lovely atmosphere, and the food was excellent and the staff and service was good. Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tried and tested”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Col' Cacchio provides consistently good food and the Hermanus restaurant meets all expectations! The wide variety of pizza toppings and pasta options provides something for everyone.

The focaccia is always good and the pear salad a good starter shared by two. We always have a half and half so that we can experience two pizza toppings (or four!) in a sitting.

Really good value for money, friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best pizza in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

if you like good quality pizza with the perfect thin crust this is the place for you. The service is excellent and the choice of wines first class.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Col' Cacchio was the first restaurant we came across while driving back to Cape Town from an early morning shark dive in Gansbaii. Needless to say, we arrived hungrier than the sharks.

We sat on the outdoor patio and perused the menu. The waiter was all smiles and gave us a few recommendations from the comprehensive menu. We had a hard time deciding between the many tasty topping combinations, but ultimately settled on something. The pizza was baked in a real pizza oven and the ingredients were high-quality. Nice ambiance, too.

A note of advice, the adjacent parking lot is free. You do not need to pay the self-appointed parking attendants in the orange vests, but can tip them if you find them helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went there for lunch, everything about the experience was good except for the smoke. It seems that there must be a real pizza oven but while we were there is smelled that the chimney was faulty.

I had a stunning pizza, pork spare ribs the main ingredient. But much more than that - lovely thin crust.

This was a good meal and I would go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Col'Cacchio also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Col'Cacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing