We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and a great ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pentola

La Pentola
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: La Pentola established in 1995 has a breath taking panoramic view of Walker Bay, the birthing ground of Southern Right Whales. The perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood & Abalone, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, Tender T-Bone, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and a great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is the second time we'd eaten at this restaurant in one week so you can probably tell how much we like the food!

This time round we had chicken livers, houllimi and calamari steak for starters and then kingklip and houllimi for mains. The food was superb and the flavours we're just amazing together.

Shane and his staff are so enthusiastic about the food that they produce and the service is always great so I wouldn't hesitate to visit La Pentola again and again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CosV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    229
    96
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
1 review
“Wonderful experience ! Best venison i have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

An awesome overall experience , the staff were friendly , knowledgable re menu but not over the top. The food was fantastic, best Springbok (venison) I have had ever ! Prices are extremely affordable and very good value for money

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE ALL ROUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Among the best meals we've had anywhere in the world and nowhere near as expensive as many of them ! Lovely ambiance, decor send lighting, and certainly busy enough to make us glad that we had booked. A miserable stormy November night turned into one of great joy. An obviously well-trained waiter handled our Orders with great professionalism. My wife found the Kingclip to be the best she'd had, ever, and my Marinated Springbok Steak was as tender as butter, and bursting with flavour. Just wish we could have spent another evening here, but we very rarely eat twice in the same establishment if we can avoid doing so. Full marks. We'll be back !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level Contributor
197 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine dining indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

A very good find with a great view. Slick service and a good kids menu.Affable chef too. Overall a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Today we enjoyed a wonderful lunch at La Pentola, Hermanus. We booked online through Tripadvisor.

The restaurant has a fabulous sea view from its first floor location. All the tables have a great view.

Shane and his team have us a fantastic welcome and made us comfortable at our table.

Between the 5 adults we enjoyed snails, Afro-Parisian pastry and bread for starters (the bread was freshly baked!). For mains, we enjoyed kingklip, Mozambican prawns, fillet steak, chicken and crayfish. The flavours were exquisite in each dish and cooked to perfection. For dessert, we had halva pancakes and topped it off with a milk tart (alcoholic) shot.

The food was excellent. So good that we bought one of Shane's books. Shane and his team are very passionate about serving great food, complemented with superb wines, many of which are from the Overberg region.

We're looking forward to visiting again!

Helpful?
Thank n1spm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pentola also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to La Pentola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing