We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for sundowners!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocos

Cocos
Ranked #37 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cocos Island Grill offers a wide variety of meals ranging from Breakfasts and sharing meals to starters and succulent sea and land food mains. We have an international standard cocktail bar with 10! Locally brewed draughts on tap. Enjoy the spectacular first floor view from our terrace or at one of our many window seats... So whether its you and friends or the whole family, feel welcome to relax and enjoy Cocos life.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,046 reviews
1,156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,801 helpful votes
“A great place for sundowners!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Popped into this great bar for sundowners. Great views from the upstairs tables, good lively atmosphere & a friendly welcome.
Ordered a nice bottle of locally produced Sauvignon Blanc & happily sat there watching the sea.
They have a good selection of beers & Sport TV, so a good around fun place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    124
    58
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Coco's provides well cooked seafood and good craft beers at a very reasonable price.

I found the service to be very good and the food to be excellent value.

The Prawn Tempura to start was excellent as was the Fisherman's Feast for main.

The only downside for me was the constant stream of youngsters recently finished matric / school who were stopping off for lubrication at Coco's enroute to the free-shots upstairs in the "nightclub". Also Coco's has a communal toilet with the rest of the complex and to be polite these communal facilities are poorly maintained.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service not up to scratch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Visited Coco's for dinner and as a regular I was expecting the usual friendly service...thats not what we received. Our drinks took extremely long to get to the table - had to call the waiter all the time as he was preoccupied with other tables. The restaurant wasnt even half full.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cas_Da_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great craft beers with sports TV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Popped in to watch my local team Liverpool play Arsenal and they lost so not a happy chappy. Cocos however made up for it with it for excellent food and service and also great view of the whales in the harbour. South Africa is a rugby nation but the helpful staff changed to English Premier League for me so another plus for them. Also git some great craft beers available as well as as good wine list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeandrewsok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The menu has a huge selection and the food was great, with generous portions. The waitress was very tolerant of us jumping from table to table to window trying to take photos of whales breaching in the bay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GothKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocos also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing