We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but efficient”
Review of Cocos

Cocos
Ranked #31 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cocos Island Grill offers a wide variety of meals ranging from Breakfasts and sharing meals to starters and succulent sea and land food mains. We have an international standard cocktail bar with 10! Locally brewed draughts on tap. Enjoy the spectacular first floor view from our terrace or at one of our many window seats... So whether its you and friends or the whole family, feel welcome to relax and enjoy Cocos life.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Noisy but efficient”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice sports bar and dining us style but with amaizing windows on the hermanus bay. We had lunch with the rugby game on tv and with the whales floting in front of us. Wier but nice. In terms of food and drinks i would rank it average so theonly reason to go is if you want a confortable place for a drink while watching whales or if you want to see a sport event and others in your group want to keep onwatching the whales. Nice and easy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    132
    59
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L'Agulhas, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great view, excellent beer and good service!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We popped in for a late and light lunch on Sunday 28 July after a bad experience at another venue nearby (Walker Bay). Met at the top of the steps, welcomed, shown to a table. The drinks arrived promptly and the food a short while after! All in all great!

Their Coco Lager is awesome - sadly not for take-away purchases.

The menu had some interesting and very different things from the norm, right size, well presented and very tasty. Well priced as well - when you walk away thinking "that was good value" then they have it right!

Binoculars available for watching the whales and no blaring TVs! Well done people - keep it up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weary_of_Work_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing view at sunrise !!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very beatiful view at sunrise in the morning. Well situated in mid town, with relaxed atmosphere.
Friendly and helpfull staff with own brewed beer !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterm67-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"FANTASTIC"”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

our first visit to Hermanus was made spectacular by visiting Cocos. at first we thought to sit at a downstairs bistro, but my wife encouraged me to go upstairs as a friend had recommended she try Cocos. it was the best move we could've made! the view is breath taking with whales to boot! the food was simple and fresh with a few delicious secrets they wouldn't reveal (lol). An awesome array of draught beers and cocktails from the top shelf, truly genuine, friendly service and great atmosphere made this by far the vibiest and most enjoyable restaurant we have been to in a very long time.
well done cocos...we will be seeing you again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Family style atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

RIb shack style food/tex mex. Huge menu so not sure how they can produce all that fresh. Went as kids liked the menu. Service fine. Not that cheap but big portions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocos also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing