We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and great food and drinks”
Review of Cocos

Cocos
Ranked #33 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cocos Island Grill offers a wide variety of meals ranging from Breakfasts and sharing meals to starters and succulent sea and land food mains. We have an international standard cocktail bar with 10! Locally brewed draughts on tap. Enjoy the spectacular first floor view from our terrace or at one of our many window seats... So whether its you and friends or the whole family, feel welcome to relax and enjoy Cocos life.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great view and great food and drinks”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived late on New Year's day after seeing in the year in Cape Town V&A. Very little open but Cocos boasts that it is open 365 days a year and we were very pleased to go there - great food, good cocktails, wonderful view from upstairs and prompt service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank acs2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    130
    58
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“saved the dinner but would not go back”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

what i noticed in Hermanus is that no matter how late you can go home after having done some activities, you have to rush to dinner as every restaurant closes down at 9pm. We noticed this on our second night in town and were lucky enough to be taken to Cocos by one of the managers, who was nice enough to keep the kitchen open for us to have dinner. Unfortunately Cocos doesn't offer any special food, but I had a chicken salad and it was done very well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank silviaaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
“Great view outstanding service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Visitor from Western Australia: a view to die for and excellent service. The staff are friendly, the location is brilliant. If you are a visitor from Down Under, you will not have seen anything like this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieJosee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great cocktails.”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Previously the Cubana the name change has if anything improved the setup. Good bar food,great vibe and Pina Colada to die for!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank eric312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the view is worth the visit”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had family over from the UK and we spent an afternoon sitting at the window upstairs, whale watching and going through the cocktail menu. we had possibly the best service in Hermanus from a young man ( can't remember his name ) who was entertaining, knowledgable about things to do and generally just very helpful. we had a good solid meal and our overseas visitors returned the next day for one last look at the whales.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeselHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocos also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing