We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grotto Beach

Grotto Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Blue flag beach. Good facilities and Dutchies Restaurant which serves lovely food. A place to sunbathe and swim but also to take long walks

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    197
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A real beach experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had dinner and were seated outside. One can enjoy the seaview and fresh sea breeze. The obvious choices on the menu are the fish platters which was perfectly cooked.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Grotto Beach is one of the prettiest beaches along the southern Cape coast, tucked away as it is from the busy streets of Hermanus just 5 minutes away by car. We have visited the beach before, usually as part of a walk along the lovely Hermanus cliff path, which is ideal for an early morning walk. But not having been back for a couple of years, we were very pleasantly surprised by the new change rooms and toilets, which are quite large and attractive. They are well situated between beach and parking. On this visit we arrived by car and were pleased to find that there was extensive parking, all free, some close to the restaurant and a lot more beyond the ablution block. We visited the restaurant called Dutchies. It was very busy, being lunch time on a summer's day, but we were able to find a table under the milkwood tree outside, so we could view the beach. We had a very enjoyable light lunch, served in reasonable time. We did not swim on this occasion, so cannot comment on this aspect, but the beach is large and clean, very suitable for the families who were enjoying the facilities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Appreciated the umbrella and lounger hire - the refreshment facilities (altho limited) and the clean restrooms.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GillianJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Perfect family fun spot ... but??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is one of our favourite spots in December for a day of fun at the beach. It has a nice sandy beach and the water is warmer than the cold Atlantic in Cape Town. The kids usually love it and spend hours in the sun and water having fun. However, in December 2013 it was very windy when we visited and the a lot of flies was pestering us. I had to drive into town to buy "peaceful sleep" cream to use and keep the flies away. I did notice water from the storm-water or sewage outlet onto the beach, which I suspected as the source of the flies. This beach has a blue-flag rating, so I'm a bit confused.
There are nice bathroom and shower facilities, ice cream vendors, etc., so lots of fun for the whole family.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Beach also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing