We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Beach!”
Review of Grotto Beach

Grotto Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a fabulous beach. When we were there the sun was shining and we had the beach mostly to ourselves. It was a delight. Do go and visit; you will not be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    198
    32
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in Hermanus one Sunday afternoon and the beach was not too busy so it was perfect, you can walk for for miles and come back and cool off with a drink at Dutchies while the kids play on the jungle gym or in the sand

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OverbergLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“for walkers”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I walked from De Kelders to Hermanus (18 km). I've met 3 guys fishing, 2 groups picking up mussels, 3 dead seals, and a lot fo plastic bottles, and nobody else. I you like very long walks take to drink and to eat put some sun protector, and go. You will never forget this hours of solitude.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wojciech C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st class beach”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked the excellent changing facilities.
It was good to be able to get something to eat - not something you normally see in SA.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sooz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful running and walking”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very long clean beach. Good to walk your dog. The water is cold though. Swimming for "northerners".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charly_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Beach also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing