We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very good but...”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff and a good location but there was a couple of niggles:
1. We had large black insects that we thought initially were crickets coming inside the apartment but, on reflection, could have been cockroaches (seemed to be many running in the patio door runner channels waiting to come inside when we used the balcony).
2. On the Saturday morning we were awoken at 6.00 AM by refrigerated trucks parked on the road outside our apartment with their engines running, waiting to deliver to the shopping centre below.
Everything else was perfect - a large apartment with all the facilities you would ever need. The shops below are handy for provisions etc. and the location is close to the sea path and restaurants. Also very safe to walk out at night.
The staff are very friendly and helpful regarding local information etc.- just the insect problem that we were concerned with, although we didn't complain as it was managable during our three-day stay.
There is a great Deli on the opposite side of the road on the corner - brilliant food!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank swindphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please do not hesitate to inform us about any issues during your stay as we can react much better to it then to avoid that it affects your experience negatively
We have had a look at it now and taken care of the little visitors(bugs).
Unfortunately, a central location as ours does come does not always guarantee the quiet tranquil environment during different times of the day. We are always trying our utmost to keep it to a minimum, especially during the night, and apologise that your sleep has been affected by the deliveries of the shops nearby.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. PS: the Deli offers fantastic wine blending workshops- just to recommend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    206
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
340
150
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My stay at Whale Coast Hotel was perfect. beautiful apartment, great views, close to restaurants and shops, short walk to the ocean, friendly staff and secure parking. I can really recommend this place, especially if you would like to stay a while in Hermanus (which you should) and spend time visiting the wonderful wine farms, watch the whales (june - november), play golf or just enjoy the ocean and tranquillity of this nice town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Roger,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a “perfect” stay. Please stay updated on the events and happenings in Hermanus on our Facebook site as well as you should most definitely enquire about the various specials we have in place when you plan on visiting us the next time. We have arrangements for long staying guest as We also believe it is definitely worthwhile staying in Hermanus for longer to experience the diverse offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were in Hermanus for a wedding with another couple and we enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, there is save parking, modern, clean apartment which is very spacious ...The kitchen is fully equipped and you even have a little braai (barbeque) area on the balcony and a supermarket next door...while restaurants and cafes are also within walking distance. Our balcony was facing the shopping mall parking, so that was the only downside...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Sophie,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our features. Unfortunately, being located so centrally with the shopping mall as our immediate neighbour, our apartments do not benefit of views one might wish for but the Overberg mountain range in the background. However, we hope that the central location and short walking distance to the cliff path and ocean can make up for this downside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wish we could have stayed for longer! The apartments are fully furnished with everything one could possibly need! Situated above a shopping mall with shops, a bottle store and supermarket for supplies and in the centre of town a stone's throw from amazing restaurants and bars. The staff are super friendly and informative (they even drove us to the beach!) and everything is clean and easy to use. An incredible stay, we could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your kind words! We strive at all times to exceed guest expectations, and your relaxation and happiness were our top priorities whilst you stayed with us. We’d love for you to visit us again, and we hope to make your next trip even more memorable. Please Like our Facebook page to stay up to date with the latest Hermanus news, and to remind you of those special moments each day in Hermanus brings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The apartment was very well fitted out & comfortable (no hairdryer supplied) Location is very cental, no need to use car unless you would like to visit sights out of town. If you don't like noise the parking lot is very disturbing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback brought to our attention. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise levels of the parking lot at all times of the day as a central location like ours is busy especially during the day. However, we do our utmost that the traffic stops in the evening to ensure a good night rest. We hope to welcome you again and will ensure that your apartment is not lacking any amenities then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the whale coast hotel for four nights in January 2014. The hotel is very well positioned being above a supermarket and shopping centre with all key attractions in Hermanus either walking distance away or a quick drive. It is also very safe as well with secure entrances and underground parking.
The rooms are spacious, clean, have modern appliances and all the utensils to make your self catering stay easy.
One point to note is that there is no air conditioning in the apartment, the rooms did have fans though. The beds were comfortable but only queen size in the main room, which given the size of the apartments could easily be a king.
The staff were always friendly and courteous.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eben-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Eben Family,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay and will forward your kind words to our team! I am glad you could enjoy the advantages of our convenient location. Please note that we are currently equipping our apartments with air-conditioning in the master bedrooms to support the fans in the summer time. We hope this upgrade will make your future stay with us more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Super stay at The Whale Coast Hotel.
Great Combination of Self-Catering and Serviced Apartments.
Centrally located - all Conveniences at your doorstep.
Clean, Modern, Efficient Service.
Pleasant, helpful Staff at hand 24/7.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Tas K,


It was a wonderful pleasure to host your reunion holiday at the hotel, and we really appreciate your kind feedback. We can’t wait to have you back, and to share the best Hermanus has to offer with you. Please Like our Facebook page to stay up to date with all the latest happenings in Hermanus. Perhaps we could tempt you to take a breakaway and visit us again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Property: The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing