We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, stunning apartment, amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wish we could have stayed for longer! The apartments are fully furnished with everything one could possibly need! Situated above a shopping mall with shops, a bottle store and supermarket for supplies and in the centre of town a stone's throw from amazing restaurants and bars. The staff are super friendly and informative (they even drove us to the beach!) and everything is clean and easy to use. An incredible stay, we could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Helen,

Thank you for your kind words! We strive at all times to exceed guest expectations, and your relaxation and happiness were our top priorities whilst you stayed with us. We’d love for you to visit us again, and we hope to make your next trip even more memorable. Please Like our Facebook page to stay up to date with the latest Hermanus news, and to remind you of those special moments each day in Hermanus brings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 731 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

The apartment was very well fitted out & comfortable (no hairdryer supplied) Location is very cental, no need to use car unless you would like to visit sights out of town. If you don't like noise the parking lot is very disturbing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback brought to our attention. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise levels of the parking lot at all times of the day as a central location like ours is busy especially during the day. However, we do our utmost that the traffic stops in the evening to ensure a good night rest. We hope to welcome you again and will ensure that your apartment is not lacking any amenities then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the whale coast hotel for four nights in January 2014. The hotel is very well positioned being above a supermarket and shopping centre with all key attractions in Hermanus either walking distance away or a quick drive. It is also very safe as well with secure entrances and underground parking.
The rooms are spacious, clean, have modern appliances and all the utensils to make your self catering stay easy.
One point to note is that there is no air conditioning in the apartment, the rooms did have fans though. The beds were comfortable but only queen size in the main room, which given the size of the apartments could easily be a king.
The staff were always friendly and courteous.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eben-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Eben Family,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay and will forward your kind words to our team! I am glad you could enjoy the advantages of our convenient location. Please note that we are currently equipping our apartments with air-conditioning in the master bedrooms to support the fans in the summer time. We hope this upgrade will make your future stay with us more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Super stay at The Whale Coast Hotel.
Great Combination of Self-Catering and Serviced Apartments.
Centrally located - all Conveniences at your doorstep.
Clean, Modern, Efficient Service.
Pleasant, helpful Staff at hand 24/7.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Tas K,


It was a wonderful pleasure to host your reunion holiday at the hotel, and we really appreciate your kind feedback. We can’t wait to have you back, and to share the best Hermanus has to offer with you. Please Like our Facebook page to stay up to date with all the latest happenings in Hermanus. Perhaps we could tempt you to take a breakaway and visit us again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We enjoyed the stay at the Whale Coast Hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful.The secure parking is a bonus. Although we did not have a sea-view from our balcony, the view over the mountain was spectacular. We also found that everything is walking distance from the hotel with lots to do. We will definitely make use of your accommodation in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Sonia,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcome you back in the
hopefully near future. Please keep an eye on our facebook page and website for the latest updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel offers great, friendly and efficient service to all it's Guests. The rooms are fully equipped with everything you would ever need. The hotel is self catering and comes with everything at your disposal. The bed's are very comfortable, I sometimes found them a bit hard, but with the soft linen and pillows, rest was assured. Cleaning of the rooms was not always up to par. The dishes weren't washed correctly, and toilet paper was not changed.
The hotel is located centrally in the town of Hermanus, a walk to the old Harbour will take about five minutes. And there is a Checker's and many other multi purpose shops in the same building as the hotel. Over

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain/parking lot side are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradB1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Brad,

Thank you very much for taking out some of your valuable time to share this feedback with us. It is always motivating to hear when guests can enjoy their stay with us. However, I will address your remarks with the respective departments to ensure we will improve on this. We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights along with 2 friends over the Xmas period. Staff were very helpful on arrival and during our stay.
The room was clean and fairly well equiped, although it would have been good to have a couple of extra plates etc instead of just 4 of each. The wine glasses (which we broke one) are not really suitable for hotels, tall and spindly very fragile.
The bedroom at the back, did suffer from mosquitos, due to water lying in gutters on roof .
The television services were of a very poor selection.
We found the hotel very central to all restaurants etc.
But we did enjoy our stay, weather was perfect and the accommodation comfortable.
We would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: $121 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing