We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean and close to the sea apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern, clean and close to the sea apartments”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Newly built hotel, very modern and clean. The hotel is actually apartments in a shopping mall which makes it safe (on top of a permanent person at the reception). Staff is helpful and friendly helping you out with any query (restaurant reco and booking, day trips,etc). 5min walking from coast and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Barbara,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable and safe throughout. We most certainly look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    207
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
342
151
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stay at the Whale Hotel only booked the day before. Friends that we were travelling with booked a 2 bedroom apartment for us to all share. The apartment was large and spacious giving us both private space when needed.
On our arrival were given lots of info about looking at the whales (which were amazing) and also suggested eating places. They even booked our table for us at a place called Lemon Butta which was fantastic.
This stay was two days out from getting married and they also made us feel very special by placing flowers, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our apartment.
It is very central and you can walk the town from there.
We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIll1957_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Jill,
we are delighted that you
enjoyed your stay with us; we are absolutely honoured that you chose the Whale Coast Hotel to escape the wedding stress and hope you had a once in a lifetime fantastic day . What a truly special occasion for us to host! We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back not only to South Africa or Hermanus, but to the Whale Coast Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I booked Whale Coast whilst on a business trip to the area. Price and reviews were attractive, and booked. The result? A great experience, perfectly situated within a few minutes walk of all attractions, and great service from Nicole too. The hotel offers self catering as well as arrangements with the many restaurants nearby. I chose a BBQ on my own balcony and relaxed for the evening with my feet up. A great find, thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for BBQ in advance to ensure the wood and matches are nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Marnie, thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review, your feedback is highly appreciated. Here at the Whale Coast Hotel we like to believe that we are able to cater to every kind of traveler and are glad we could create a great experience for you. Thank you very much for informing me/ us about the service Nicole delivered. I have forwarded your feedback to Nicole and you might be interested to hear that she just became our employee of the Quarter. We look forward to welcoming you again and will make sure wood and matches are nearby for another braai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I live in Toronto, Canada and recently booked 10 nights at the Whale Coast so that I could have a self catering place to stay while relocating my aged Mother-in-law into an assisted living facility in Hermanus. This was my sole reason for coming to South Africa from Canada. Unfortunately 5 days before I was due to arrive my Mother-in-law had a tragic situation that resulted in her being in intensive care for 8 days and her circumstances changed so dramatically that we can no longer move her into the facility we had arranged in Hermanus. I told the Whale Coast Hotel of the situation I found myself in and they would not refund any of the R7500 deposit I had paid to secure the booking. While I understand that this was a last minute booking and cancellation, the reasons for the cancellation were very unfortunate and not something anyone expected. After numerous emails and phone calls to the Hotel the best they offered me was that I could use the value of the deposit up to the end of January 2014 - despite the fact that I explained over and over again that I live in Canada and am no longer ever coming to Hermanus that is what they offered! I feel that absolutely no compassion has been shown at all and while I understand that they are running a business I think that not bending the rules at all is just heartless given the situation that our family is in.
My request was "taken to the top" i.e. to the General Manager and Managing Director but neither of them had the courtesy to personally contact me back. I made a final appeal this week but have not heard back. This is very disappointing! I am sure that the Whale Coast is a beautiful place but their Management are heartless! Leslie Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Ms Small,

Thank you very much for your feedback on the experience you had with Whale Coast Hotel. We as a team were and still are very sorry to hear about your case and hope that your mother-in law- will be on the path to recovery soon.

If I may, I would yet like to elaborate on our view on this situation:

The management team of Whale Coast Hotel took notice of your difficult family situation which was brought to our attention at that time. However, as you have already mentioned, we are a business entity and must act in our best interest eventually. As much as we want our guests to have an exceptional experience at the Whale Coast Hotel, we at the same time have the great responsibility towards our team member and their families by paying salaries hence we have created our cancellation policies.
Due to the tragic circumstances you were in, we decided to keep your deposit to be used at a later stage. This was immediately discussed with your brother who made the booking on your behalf and was in contact with us throughout. Your brother Craig confirmed this arrangement and we proceeded accordingly.

We hope that this clears the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the whale coast hotel. 3 bedrooms, 120m2 apartment. Nicely spacious, all equiped and great service. Also close to the centre, coast (3 minutes walk) and shopping below. Recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Crg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here are the Whale Coast Hotel to the fullest. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The service from the booking procedure, reception and accommodating a late check out request was excellent. Our apartment was beautiful, just a pitty of the view. Location was good for shopping and you could walk through the whole town, even between 22h00 - 24h00, excellently located to do your "late night" shopping if you forgot a toothbrush etc, but being "on top of the Checkers Centre" just was a bit akward. THe only negative comment regarding the apartment inside was that the second bedroom requires a mirror, otherwise an extension that will reach to the bathroom if you wish to blowdry your hair and have a mirror whilst doing this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Dina, thank you for having chosen the Whale Coast Hotel as your desired destination. It was great having you stay with us, and we certainly looking forward to having you back again. We value your suggestion about inserting a mirror in the 2nd bedroom and have initiated the required changes. Thank you once again for letting us know about your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment over a weekend in October. It was our 1st time away with our new baby but WCH made it easy with friendly efficient staff, very well kitted out self catering apartments and a perfect location. It was easy to walk into town for some shopping, whale watching and restaurants. Parking was safe and secure (and free). Easy to get out of town to visit local wine farms and other attractions. Fully self catering with Braai area meant we did not have to venture out at night even though we did on the 1st night to Lemon Butter which served delicious seafood and were happy to accommodated our sleeping baby in her car seat at our table. Overall a wonderful 1st weekend away!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GM_Cape_Manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Bryony, thank you for your kind feedback. Your review is certainly valued and appreciated. It was an absolute pleasure being able to host you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again on a second getaway with your family. There is a lot to discover in our little Hermanus and plenty of activities for any age. We hope that we will be your preferred accommodation should you return and create more special moments for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Property: The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing