We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Marine for one night as part of a larger trip to S. Africa. We thought that the drive from Cape Town to Hermanus, was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. Hermanus itself is a bit tired and touristy, but the hotel is a true oasis. The views from the hotel and from Hermanus are spectacular. Unfortunately, we came a bit early in the season and di not see any whales. However, we had fabulous food at the Marine Hotel. The dinner we had at the hotel restaurant (the seafood restaurant) was one of the best we had in South Africa. The bar and lounge at the hotel was also beautiful and very stylish. The hotel had a nice aesthetic. I think the public spaces were more updated than our room. Overall, our room was very nice, though. The hotel itself was really attractive. Even the views from the room were breathtaking ocean views (even from the bathroom!)
Overall, I think the hotel is wonderful if you plan to go to Hermanus for whale watching. I would definitely eat there. I am not sure I would stay in Hermanus for more than 2 nights total though. Again, though, the drive from Cape Town made the experience even more special

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gona40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 768 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2007

Lovely hotel, superb staff at all levels. Food (particularly seafood) is as good or better than many top city restaurants. Bedroom didn't have a view but was comfortable, clean and nicely furnished.
The town itself is quiet, but the scenery wonderful, and the cliff top location of the hotel could not be better.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank artanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

This upscale hotel is a little paradise. We arrived in Hermanus, which is a wonderful little town by the ocean, to find the white bricked building of our hotel, where we stayed for 2 nights. Although the average age comprised of +/- 55, we felt very special in this hotel. The room is absolutely beautiful (ask for 106 if you chose a luxury room) and the food is excellent. Enjoy, enjoy....

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank ziggy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We stayed three nights in The Marine on our fantastic SA honeymoon.

From our lovely welcome by Heather to our departure we could not have asked for better service or value for money.

Champagne in the room on arrival, beautiful turn-downs at night with rose petals and chocolates and the most perfect cosmoplitans that I have tasted anywhere. Service around the pool was prompt and the paninis were delicious. Food in both restaurants was excellent. The first night we ate in the main restaurant and both finished with the banana souffle, which they cut into at the table and poured chocolate rum sauce inside. We were so full we nearly had to be carried up the stairs to bed! The seafood restaurant is beautiful and "New England" in decor.

As with all hotels, your room is what you pay for. We had booked a sea-facing room and we got a huge room on the first floor with a big bath under the bathroom window and another beside the bed in the bedroom so you could lie and relax whilst watching the wales in the bay.

My only gripe was the rain (in Summer!) which cancelled our whale watching trip and took us on a tour of more vineyards!

I find harsh reviews about anything not being "value for money" in SA crazy. Everything is far, far, cheaper than its equivalent in UK.

I would highly recommend this relaxing and contemporary hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We were very disappointed with the Marine Hotel. It was the most expensive of all the hotels and first class B&Bs that we stayed in and not good value for money.

Yes the views are amazing, and the whales came out to play. The breakfasts are fantastic and the lady in the travel shop is very friendly and helpful.

But.... it started out badly when the receptionist suggested that my partner didn't wear shorts for the bar. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a whole lot of other rooms with a shared terrace, it was completely over furnished with ruffly floral bits and pieces and completely over the top in places.

We found it overpriced, lacking in special touches and given the fact that there is such a high standard of accomodation in South Africa - very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank buttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Every single member of staff that we were in contact with was very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was big, clean and beautiful and the food in the restaurant was wonderful. This hotel just couldn't be faulted. Unfortunately we only had two nights there!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pracatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

This is as good as it gets. What sets the Marine above the rest is the flawless service. Infact, it is only by staying here that you realise what makes a good hotel. Many places have all the facilities, nice rooms etc but the attention to detail. The personal, named welcome as you arrive, the staff cant do enough to help.
Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nobster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $298 - $860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing