We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the Relais & Chateaux membership”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2008

In our opinion, this is a good, provincial hotel. True it's a member of Relais & Chateaux, but if you think it's going to be in the same class as, for example, Chewton Glen or the Crillon, prepare to be disappointed.
We stayed in what was billed as a junior suite, but which was no larger than a standard room at the Radisson (Cape Town) and the Marine's bathroom was tiny and could only accommodate one person at a time - half the size of the Radisson's and about a quarter the size of those you would find at Chewton Glen.
The decor in the public areas was nice - contemporary South African, I think they describe it as - but in our room that translated as sterile. The room was painted in a shade of cool blue/grey and had two mirrors to brighten it up, plus a pair of out-of-place floral prints on the wall. We thought the decor looked cheap.
Our view of the colour scheme is subjective, of course, but on the objective side, the carpet was worn and stained, there was a cracked floor tile in the (tiny) bathroom and mould growing on the grouting in the shower cubicle.
Service was good and food was good, so it's basically a decent place to stay, but it's just not up there in terms of spaciousness or quality with the likes of other R&C hotels, like Chewton Glen or the Crillon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 770 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights before moving onto Cape Town. The hotel is so beautiful and very clean. Every effort is made to make sure you have everything you need. Best of all was the food in both restaurants and especially the breakfast buffet which really is the best I have tasted and believe me I have been to many top class restaurants around the world. The weather was very good and so we ate breakfast on the patio outside overlooking the bay.

At the moment I am staying in a 5 star hotel in Cape Town but the food is not a patch on the Marine. Go there you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitchenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Stayed at the Marine for 3 nights as part of 2 week holiday to South Africa. We were initially a little disappointed having just checked out of La Residence in Franschhoek which was incredible (see separate review). Our main gripe was our room (Ocean View Suite No 227) which was rather dated, particularly the bathroom and especially the tiny shower. However the Marine grew on us. The downstairs (public) areas were fantastic with 2 great restaurants and a lovely bar. The views to the ocean are breathtaking especially when the whales are performing ! And the staff were all excellent - warm, efficient and friendly. The food was also extremely good and I must say that their Eggs Benedict are the best (and I'm experienced in this area!) There is a lovely feel about the Marine - a true sea side hotel and when the sun shines it's a lovely place to be. So, in summary, we would definitely return but would hope they might have updated their rooms a little.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank New2Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

The Southern Right whales come to Walker Bay in Hermanus every year from July through November. And the best view of them, up close, is from the window of your suite at the Marine Hermanus. The attention to detail, beautifully appointed rooms, great seafood, combined with the lovely town of Hermanus, make the Marine unforgettalbe and wonderful. No need for a concierge; the staff will get you anything you need. You won't be sorry that you spent the money to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed for two nights on 24th and 25th December 2007 and couldn't have chosen a better place to spend Christmas.

We booked a premier suite and weren't disappointed - it was huge. We had a window which overlooked the sea, literally 10 metres away, and to our amazement (and that of the locals) a few whales were still in the bay. Room finishings were as expected - of a very high quality and the four poster bed was a dream.

Given the busy season, we had booked our evening meal on 24th and lunch on 25th a couple of months before arrival. It was a good job we did as both restaurants were packed! Seafood at the Marine was excellent and Christmas lunch came with champagne and canapes on the terrace, turkey, Christmas pudding, crackers and an opera singer!!!

We really spent some lazy time at the hotel. We had some drinks in the beautiful bar, went for a walk on the coastal path (amazing scenery) and a wander around Hermanus town. The hotel location is perfect for ditching the car and the town is quite safe to walk around during the day (we didn't venture out at night).

The main factor that made our stay special were the levels of service. If you have been to Africa then you'll know that even at some of the top hotels, service can be a little shoddy at times. Not at The Marine! Everyone from housekeeping to senior management went out of their way to ensure we had a fabulous time - nothing was too much trouble.

I'd highly recommend The Marine to anyone wanting a night or two on the coast ESPECIALLY when the whales are in town.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

we spent 3 nights in the Marine at the start of a lovely honeymoon in SA. We chose it to relax after a hectic few weeks and it delivered on every level. A fantastic location, within 5 mins walk of the old harbour. Rooms are lovely and we were upgraded to a mini suite with a terrace looking out to sea. The restaurants are lovely - watch for the supplements in the Sea Food one - they are well explained but I was still caught out!! Bar and terrace areas are lovely and drinks very reasonable. Breakfast is perfect - go for the Overberg Farmers Omelette (but only the once!).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NervousFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the Marine for three nights earlier this month. What a wonderful place. The whale watching is fabulous this time of year...they are really all over the place. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great as well. It helped a bit that we had Room 219, which is a two-story Premier Suite located on the second floor of the three-sided structure in the middle of the hotel facing the ocean. Without question the greatest hotel room we have ever had. The food in both restaurants is very good. I highly recommend the Marine.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $288 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing