We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hermanus
Nearby Hotels
$106
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$97
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
$72
$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (794)
Filter reviews
794 results
Traveler rating
535
164
60
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
164
60
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranttravel deskorigins restaurantpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingfabulous hotelsister hotelstar hotelsea viewcape townsouth africawalker baythe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 794 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spent one night at the Marine and wished I had time to stay longer. The property was lovely, the rooms all one could ask for the the location very convenient to walking in town and viewing the whales. I do think it a bit expensive considering the area although I doubt there is other accommodation of this standard in Hermanus. If you want to see the whales and treat yourself to a high quality hotel then the Marine is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments.
The Marine is definitely that special destination in the jewel that is Hermanus.
we hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent a weekend night at the Marine and it was a real treat. The Marine is a beautiful property in the perfect position in Hermanus. Every aspect of our stay was great: from the upgraded suite with the sea view, relaxing drinks in the tranquil bar, delicious dinner in their stylish restaurant, to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive sentiments and we are delighted to have been able to enhance your time away. Hermanus is a special place, one worth visiting again and again.
Hoping to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at the Marine on the 26th April, our wedding night and the hotel went to every effort to make us feel special. We were upgraded, congratulated, met by the Manager and given a free bottle of excellent champagne as well as chocolates and a fruit basket. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a lovely view of the mountains and sea. The room also had a view facing balcony. The staff are warm, friendly but still polite and unobtrusive. Our car was given a complimentary wash which was the cherry on top of the perfect service. The linen, towels, bed and room accessories are very much of a 5 star standard. The location of the hotel is perfect - right on the cliff edge. The breakfast was very good in a smart but relaxed restaurant with gorgeous view. We would loved to have stayed longer and will most certainly return next time we visit South Africa. We recommended the hotel to our wedding guests (who had all travelled to Hermanus) and a few of them ate dinner at the hotel & there were many comments of 'best evers' especially with regards to the fish. We travel extensively and particularly appreciate that one of the most important times in our life was treated as that. Thank you Marine for a very happy memory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for your gracious comments and it was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us on such a special day. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of The Marine and experienced a bit of what Hermanus has to offer.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Marine on 24 & 25th February - The location is excellent. However for the price R7,200 per night the value, size and condition of the room was probably the worst experienced ever at a 5 star hotel. We immediately complained to the front design and to date have never received a response to our complaint - The manager was in attendance but he too did not bother to try and discuss the problem with us. The room is tiny, the shower totally below standard, the front window kept vibrating and knocking against the window frame, we had to wedge a pile of paper in between the 2 stop the noise and rattling. Breakfast was poor - no replenishment of fresh fruit on both days - empty plates on the buffet - few staff in attendance !!No doubt we will never return to the Marine nor recommend to any of our many travelling friends etc. Lastly how your hotel can be rated a 5 star is beyond us !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank selwyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I am slightly confused however as when you were offered a different room, one more to your specific taste, you did not want to move.
Thank you for pointing out the rattling windows. These have most definitely been attended to.
Having personally overseen breakfast during your stay with us, I can assure you that all fruits were replenished on our buffet.
I am disappointed that you feel so negatively towards The Marine Hotel and do hope that one day you may return so that we may have the chance to turn your experience around.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in the Marine Hermanus on 3rd and 4th of March, 2014. It is a wonderful hotel, situated right on the ocean at the far end of the town centre.
From the moment we were helped to unpack and park our car, to reception, to being taken to our room, we knew this was a lovely place. We arrived about lunchtime and after a quick freshen up, we had a light lunch sitting outside overlooking the ocean. The service was warn and friendly and efficient.
The decor of the hotel is sumptuous throughout...the bars, restaurant areas, the pool...all really welcoming and chic.
The staff are great, from the manager to the trainee.
The food was excellent...breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Our room, an ordinary one we understood, had two bathrooms, a lunge area and a big bedroom, as well as a small balcony.
We had not expected such quality. What a pleasant surprise.
Finally, the lady who runs the shop is the one of the most knowledgeable concierges we have ever come across.

Room Tip: One with a sea view, ideally.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bboyd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Indeed Claudia in our Boutique is a shining example of what dedicated and friendly staff we have working with us.
We hope hope to welcome you back to The Marine again.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews