We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spa experience-The Marine Hotel Hermanus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had an awesome spa session at The Marine Hotel in Hermanus!! The attention to detail and personal care was nothing lesse than 5*. My friend and I had a facial, 5* massage, bodyscrub and a session in the Dermalife-pure bliss!! I can reccomend this spa, it rates up there with many other luxury spa's out there !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeziS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

The Derma-life really is an experience and I am delighted that you enjoyed your treatments.
I will be sure to let all of the ladies in the spa know about your positive comments.
Please join us again soon
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 740 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I visited the Carchele Spa at The Marine Hotel for a half day spa & we had an amazing experience. The beauty therapists were friendly and caring and the service was of a superior standard. We had the most amazing 90 minute massage and was pampered from head to toe. Attention to detail makes all the difference. I left rejuvenated and totally relaxed, feeling like a princess! Thank you very much for an amazing experience, we will come back any day!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolandiGriessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for the positve sentiment and we are delighted that you had such a rejuvenating experience. I will be sure to let all the ladies in the Spa know about your comments and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We found this hotel a luxury for our family - a small lobby with two ensuite rooms off. the staff were extremely helpful but not overbearing. Lucas was a star!. The food was fantastic. Amazing to watch for whales whilst eating breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aysgarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments and I will be sure to pass this on to Lucas. He will be thrilled.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We loved the grounds but were very disappointed with the rooms. Pool also a bit dated. We asked to switch, as when we arrived, there were stains on the carpet, there was a damp smell, and the bed was sunken in. The room we switched to was not much better. It was chilly, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom did not work. Bathrooms were spartan.
The restaurant was great, definately go, but stay somewhere else. It's a lot of money for South Africa and NOT a 5 star hotel by interenational standards. Overpriced no doubt.

Room Tip: they vary a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

I am terribly sorry that you did not find The Marine to your liking. We have addressed the carpet issues as well as replaced the mattress and apologise for these inefficiencies during your stay.
We have recently undertaken a soft refurbishment in 10 of our rooms and would love to show these to you when you next return.
Thank you for the positive comments concerning the staff and the restaurant.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice Hotel with very good service the Lawn outside and walkway make for pretty good setting they have nice Bar and Lounge where you settle for an evening drink , City of Hermanus is delight a must visit on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
We loved having you and the family with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another perfect break.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As part of our first tour of South Africa we spent one night at the Marine - what a lovely hotel! The friendly welcome was lovely, the rooms were large, well equipped and stylish and the public areas comfortable. Of course, the main draw is its location perched on the cliff with amazing views out to sea. We saw whales directly from the coastal path that is immediately accessible from the hotel garden. It was a lovely but brief stay and we have vowed to return for a longer stay - recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

I look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay, hopefully during our whale season, where you can walk our cliff path to your hearts content watching these amazing mammals.
Thank you for your positive comments and we1ll see you soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited The Marine Hermanus as we have heard so much about it - being part of The Collection by Liz McGrath. We stopped by for afternoon tea and a short stroll in the property's gardens perched above cliffs overlooking the vast ocean in which whales can be spotted. We were very fortunate and excited to see whales at this time of the year! We then went back after our walk to enjoy finger sandwiches (cucumber/salmon/egg) and hot chocolates. You may order afternoon tea complete with scones, finger sandwiches and sweet treats & tea or a selection of sandwiches or scones on their own. If you are not feeling particularly famished, you might go for the home-made biscuits with a cup of hot brew. The interior is elegant and refined, although the furniture closest to the windows (offering great view over the ocean) is in need of thorough cleaning or restoration (they are stained and look tired). Service is professional and friendly. I even asked to see the rooms and we were shown a suite and a double luxury room - both very lovely. The suite is magnificent boasting a panoramic view over the wide ocean from the bedroom (loft/ mezzanine style) and beautiful furniture and elegant décor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mademoiselle_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for popping in and trying our delectable high tea menu. I see that you thoroughly enjoyed it. I must apologise for the state of the furniture. This has since been cleaned as part of our rotational cleaning program.

Now that you have seen a couple of our magnificent rooms, I look forward to you calling and putting in a booking.

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: $277 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing