We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite top-notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not quite top-notch”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lovely hotel, wonderful setting, very attentive staff, good food and all the other positives made by other reviewers.

In our case just one downside. Our room. We booked through an agent (Cox & King) who should have explained the different grades of room and in particular that those on the 1st floor of the two-storey building and facing the front have great views over the sea, whilst ours at the side of the building and on the ground floor did not. So worth checking out price and availability of the rooms before booking.

Also the sound-proofing between ground floor and first floor rooms was, in our case, very poor. So we were very often disturbed by what sounded like a herd of elephants from the room above. The excellent manager said he would look into it - obviously not for us, but worth keeping an eye on this for future visits.

Overall we enjoyed The Marine and would definitely come back if going to Hermanus in the future. Hopefully if things have improved and we get a better room we will be able to give the hotel the full monty - i.e. five stars.

One other thing to note is that at Christmas - the part of the world that hasn't gone to Franschhoek seems to converge on Hermanus so everything - golf, shark cage-diving, boat trips, spa treatments and the good restaurants - all get very booked up so its worth arranging these things in advance of your trip.

Room Tip: Seaview first floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I must sincerely apologise for the noise issue which you encountered during your stay here at the Marine. Please be advised that we do take these matters very seriously.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and will gladly make advance bookings for your activities so that you may enjoy the Marine to the fullest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    137
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
421
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our fourth trip to the Marine and the Southern Right Whales and this hotel is somewhere we will go back to again and again. We booked our usual room in the middle of the Second Floor just above the Marine's own tidal swimming pool and after the usual warm welcome by the reception staff were greeted with two whales playing in the sea just in front of the pool. Fabulous. This hotel is one of three owned by Liz McGrath on and around the famed Garden Route in S Africa and is a real gem! The room we always stay in is very well appointed and comfortable and the attention to detail from the staff is unsurpassed in our experience. They even remembered that we prefer a Duvet for the bed rather than blankets. Breakfast in the Pavilion restaurant is a real treat and an evening meal at the Seafood at the Marine an excellent choice. Waking up in the morning and pulling back the curtains to view the whales from the comfortable bed brings a whole new perspective to whale watching and one I am sure new visitors will enjoy as much as we do. This is a place we come to relax after safaris and game drives and we do so with gentle cliff top walks and beach-combing on a nearby sandy beach. The staff at the Marine always make our stays very pleasant and are keen to offer advice on where to go and what to do in Hermanus and the surrounding countryside. Remember the Whales are at their best between August and October.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Sea view room on the Second Floor for the best of the whale watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Marine to experience the magnificent whales and endless beauty of the Walker Bay area. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you back to your "home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband treated my daughters and myself to a three day stay at this very special hotel to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary. I was blown away by the warm welcome of the staff on duty and the stunning rooms that were allocated to us without asking for special treatment. We had dinner in the The Pavillion Restaurant on our anniversary and were treated to a really delicious meal. The spa at the hotel is also a must visit for one of their treatments if you need to unwind. I can really recommend this hotel if you are thinking of spending time in Hermanus. It is worth every cent spent! I can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
It was lovely to be able to host your family and I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel and its` services.
Have a very happy new year and we hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We did a last minute booking and got into The Marine. It was a wonderful experience with a lovely room facing the sea. The room has its own sitting porch overlooking the sea.

It was in front of the stairways to the marine pool at the bottom which was a great dip in the summer heat of 36oC.

The jogging trail in front of the hotel was a great find especially in the morning to watch sun rise & meet other fellow jiggers. The scene at Harbour / Marine Road is very different at 7am vs the bustling cars & patrons say 10am.

The hotel provided us with a complimentary Felicite Pinot Noir which is a very nice gesture.

We asked for a reservation at Clos Malverne Restaurant and the Restaurant Manager at Pavilion prompted went out of her way to get the travel desk to secure us a lunch booking. Greatly appreciative that the staff goes out of their ways to assist & serve their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am delighted that you could share a piece of our "heaven" here are the Marine.
Exploring the Cliff path is truly special and a swim in the tidal pool is always a must!
May your next visit be just as memorable, where we will have a bottle of Pinot Noir waiting for you in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel was a real highlight on our 12 day trip in Cape Town and along the Garden Route. We were made to feel extremely welcome, especially by the Deputy GM. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a lovely room with a terrace overlooking the pool. Unfortunately the aircon wasn't working and we left to explore the area whilst the hotel sorted it out. They were most apologetic that they weren't able to fix it but upgraded us again to an even better room with views over the cliffs and the sea, and doors leading straight out onto the cliff path for viewing the whales. The room was large with 2 bathrooms, one wetroom style, not our personal preference, but spacious and very comfortable. Only minor complaint that the double doors didn't always close effectively on the bathrooms. Breakfast and dinner were first class with lots of choice. We had dinner in the Pavilion restaurant which far exceeded our expectations, the quality of food was superb and presentation, Michelin star standard. Unfortunately we didn't have time to eat in the Seafood restaurant but made up for this by visiting The Marine's sister hotel, The Plettenberg, in Plettenberg Bay, for lunch and we were not disappointed. The food and service there was another wonderful experience with great views over Plettenberg Bay and in a peacful setting. The Marine is in an excellent location, with views over the sea and ideal for watching for whales and only 5 minutes walk along a pretty coastal path to numerous cafes, restaurants and shops. From a website photo we'd viewed, we thought it may be a little isolated but it isn't, there's plenty of facilities around. We couldn't fault the service, all staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there is no gym on-site, only one close by but there is a lovely outdoor pool in a sunny, sheltered spot. Our one regret is that we wish we had booked to stay longer and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely apologise once more for the fact that the airconditioner did not work in your room. All was rectified however in the end and you enjoyed some great meals in our restaurants.
Thank you for the kind comments on our sister property, The Plettenberg. I will be sure to share your comments with the General Manager over there.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had been advised by friends that The Marine was the place to stay in Hermanus and they were right. The location is wonderful and on our first afternoon, as we were enjoying a drink in the bar, the whales provided an excellent performance right in front of us. We loved the bathroom with sea view! All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We felt we were staying in a small family run hotel rather than an establishment which is part of a large luxury chain. There were obviously quite a number of people staying in the hotel who were return visitors and the staff greeted them like old friends. We normally have reservations about staying in large hotels - this may be a big hotel but has a warm intimate feel.

Room Tip: Room, and bathroom, with a sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. As you so rightly point out, The Marine is run as a family hotel with all the warmth, character and soul that a family exhibits.
We look forward to your return in the near future.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel was a real treat!
Perfect location with great views. One could spot whales from the hotel. Common areas beautiful and immaculate, as was our lovely room. The restaurants held high qualtiy as did all the meals. Service was seemless and it was easy to arrange activities, such as whale watching, from the hotel shop. When in Hermanus, this hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay>
We hope to welcome you back soon to our family... your family in Hermanus
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing